Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Josh on April 06, 2011, 08:05:08 AM

Title: Great Image
Post by: Josh on April 06, 2011, 08:05:08 AM
My opponent attacks me with SuperThad.  I block with a crimson character below Thad's threshold and play Great Image, then die.  After battle, is Thad's crew discarded?

Great Image (Pr)
Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Crimson • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: All opponents' Heroes in play that are not in the Field of Battle at end of this battle must be discarded.

Thaddeus (Di)
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Purple • Ability: 8 / 8 • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect all cards in play, set-aside area, Artifact piles, hands, and decks from Evil Characters with toughness X or less. Cannot be interrupted.
Title: Re: Great Image
Post by: Gabe on April 06, 2011, 09:15:51 AM
No, they were protected from Great Image.
Title: Re: Great Image
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on April 06, 2011, 09:16:11 AM
I would say it doesn't worked, considering the Great Image states the discard occurs during the end of the battle, so Thad's ability is still active.


Edit: I2slowkthx
Title: Re: Great Image
Post by: Korunks on April 06, 2011, 09:48:02 AM
Is End of battle a phase on it's own or just part of the battle phase?
Title: Re: Great Image
Post by: uthminister [BR] on April 06, 2011, 09:58:34 AM
Is the end of a snickers bar still part of the snickers bar? If you have eaten the whole thing except the end, then yes it's on it's own but it is still part of the whole.
Title: Re: Great Image
Post by: Korunks on April 06, 2011, 10:08:45 AM
Is the end of a snickers bar still part of the snickers bar? If you have eaten the whole thing except the end, then yes it's on it's own but it is still part of the whole.

I seem to recall there being discussion way back when about events that occur at the "end of battle", being seperate from the battle phase.  I'll see if I can find it.
Title: Re: Great Image
Post by: Prof Underwood on April 06, 2011, 10:27:59 AM
In this case it doesn't matter whether "at the end of battle" is different or not.  Thad protects all characters in play.  Therefore, Great Image can NOT target any of the other disciples when it is played.  Therefore nothing happens to them "at the end of battle".
Title: Re: Great Image
Post by: Josh on April 06, 2011, 11:06:24 AM
In this case it doesn't matter whether "at the end of battle" is different or not.  Thad protects all characters in play.  Therefore, Great Image can NOT target any of the other disciples when it is played.  Therefore nothing happens to them "at the end of battle".
That's what I thought, but there was this discussion sometime from last year that (hypothetically) said if Great Image was CBI when played, and then a good enhancement was played that prevents discard abilities on evil cards for the remainder of turn, that Great Image would be prevented even though it was CBI when played.  So I wondered if the targeting would occur after Thad's ability stopped.
Title: Re: Great Image
Post by: STAMP on April 06, 2011, 11:37:35 AM
In this case it doesn't matter whether "at the end of battle" is different or not.  Thad protects all characters in play.  Therefore, Great Image can NOT target any of the other disciples when it is played.  Therefore nothing happens to them "at the end of battle".

GI is a triggered target.  It does not target at the time it is activated.

However, Thad's ability is still in effect during battle resolution, so the point is moot.
Title: Re: Great Image
Post by: Professoralstad on April 06, 2011, 11:40:05 AM
In this case it doesn't matter whether "at the end of battle" is different or not.  Thad protects all characters in play.  Therefore, Great Image can NOT target any of the other disciples when it is played.  Therefore nothing happens to them "at the end of battle".

GI is a triggered target.  It does not target at the time it is activated.

However, Thad's ability is still in effect during battle resolution, so the point is moot.

I agree with STAMP.

To elaborate, if a Hero is not in battle when it is played, but is later banded in, then it was never targeted by GI. Also, if a Hero is added to territory during the battle, then he does get targeted by GI when the trigger goes off.
Title: Re: Great Image
Post by: RTSmaniac on April 06, 2011, 12:29:57 PM
Thank You Stamp, +1
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal