Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Jonesy on September 28, 2014, 10:35:17 AM
-
If i instead grapes discard do cards still get shuffled and new ra or does the battle keep going?
-
Battle would continue, since the first part of the ability did not finish, the second can't happen.
-
The general rule is that when there is a cost-benefit ("Do X to Y"), you only get the benefit if the cost happens. With Instead, it 'never happened' and the new effect happened 'instead', so you don't get the benefit.
-
To that point, it has happened on more than one occasion that my only EC to block with is a lone Wandering Spirit. The first time, I wanted to use Grapes defensively to stop my opponent's 5th rescue. The second my opponent used his Grapes effectively as an AotL. In neither case did I have a Gates of Hell available to get him out.
-
To that point, it has happened on more than one occasion that my only EC to block with is a lone Wandering Spirit. The first time, I wanted to use Grapes defensively to stop my opponent's 5th rescue. The second my opponent used his Grapes effectively as an AotL. In neither case did I have a Gates of Hell available to get him out.
That is indeed a wretched fate.