Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: slugfencer on September 20, 2014, 09:36:49 PM

Title: Good Tricky Gibeonites
Post by: slugfencer on September 20, 2014, 09:36:49 PM
Goodness (Terr class clay GE)  Place on your clay Hero: if opponent uses an evil "end the battle" ability, you may make that player draw 1 instead. When this Hero enters battle, negate an evil card.

vs.

Gibeonite trickery: Brown EE  Each Hero in battle gains 0/4 and the battle immediately ends. Ability can not be interrupted or prevented. Errata/Play As: Each Hero in battle gains 0/4 (permanently) and the battle immediately ends. Cannot be negated.

In battle, EC plays Gib trick. Can Hero (with goodness on him) use his goodness ability to stop it even tho Gib Trick CBN? Basically, does "instead" beat CBN?

Thanks.
Title: Re: Good Tricky Gibeonites
Post by: Alex_Olijar on September 20, 2014, 09:38:59 PM
Yea
Title: Re: Good Tricky Gibeonites
Post by: browarod on September 20, 2014, 10:03:06 PM
Alex is correct. To clarify, "instead" abilities aren't trying to negate anything, they just change what it does. Instead abilities can still affect CBN/CBI abilities.
Title: Re: Good Tricky Gibeonites
Post by: YourMathTeacher on September 21, 2014, 08:10:50 AM
Note that the hero still gains the permanent 0/4 increase, though.  ;)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal