Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Master KChief on November 29, 2009, 02:07:51 AM

Title: Gomer vs Magic Charms
Post by: Master KChief on November 29, 2009, 02:07:51 AM
my opponent has a magician in play with magic charms activated on it. if i use my gomer to band his magician into battle, am i allowed to use magic charms?

Magic Charms
Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect your Magicians from capture and conversion. You may discard this card from your Magician during battle to capture up to two human Heroes. • Attributes: May be activated on your Magician • Identifiers: None • Verse: Ezekiel 13:20 • Availability: Thesaurus ex Preteritus booster packs ()

Title: Re: Gomer vs Magic Charms
Post by: Prof Underwood on November 29, 2009, 02:10:21 AM
...You may discard this card from your Magician during battle to capture up to two human Heroes...
Nope, because "your" means own and control.  If you band in their magician, you control it, but you still don't own it.
Title: Re: Gomer vs Magic Charms
Post by: Master KChief on November 29, 2009, 02:14:13 AM
actually, 'your' means possession and control. does possession = own? there is no definition for possession in the REG.

Quote from: REG
Your
Several cards in Redemption® refer to cards that are “your” cards (e.g., your Priest, your Heroes, your demons, your warrior-class Evil Character, ). The possession and control of a card is implied by the use of the word “your”.

Title: Re: Gomer vs Magic Charms
Post by: sk on November 29, 2009, 02:34:27 AM
Yes, 'possession' (as in, the card is legally your possession) = 'own'.
Thus, 'your' = 'own' + 'control'.

Be sure to read this thread on the Magic Charms issue. (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=17701.msg279135#msg279135)
Title: Re: Gomer vs Magic Charms
Post by: browarod on November 29, 2009, 10:31:25 AM
Even though you can't use it, it's still a wise play because then your opponent can't use it either (seeing as they don't control the Magician). ;)
Title: Re: Gomer vs Magic Charms
Post by: Professoralstad on November 29, 2009, 04:12:22 PM
I would say it's a wise move just because then you're making a very powerful character (their MC endowed magician) vulnerable to discard by your opponent.
Title: Re: Gomer vs Magic Charms
Post by: browarod on November 29, 2009, 05:04:10 PM
I would say it's a wise move just because then you're making a very powerful character (their MC endowed magician) vulnerable to discard by your opponent.
That is true as well. There are lots of good reasons for stealing their Magician with MC.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal