Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Korunks on April 25, 2009, 09:32:57 PM

Title: Goliath and his spear
Post by: Korunks on April 25, 2009, 09:32:57 PM
Can I play Goliath's Spear on Goliath(10/10 no SA) as if it were a weapon, or must it be in Battle and then he gets to keep it??

Golaith's Spear : Worth 8/10 if used by a giant, Goliath may retain this card until discarded.( I think, I paraphrased)
Title: Re: Goliath and his spear
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on April 25, 2009, 09:44:18 PM
It must be played on him in battle for him to keep it like a WC enh.
Title: Re: Goliath and his spear
Post by: YourMathTeacher on April 25, 2009, 10:10:45 PM
Special abilities like these must activate in battle first. Normally, a weapon-class enhancement can be placed on a warrior-class character outside of battle because that is a game rule. However, since Goliath is not warrior-class, the game rule does not apply to him. That is why Goliath's Spear and Goliath's Armor were created.
Title: Re: Goliath and his spear
Post by: BubbleBoy on April 26, 2009, 08:34:01 AM
Is the ability on Goliath's Spear sort of treated as an identifier? Like, in a FbtN battle, does Goliath's Spear lose the ability to be 8/10 or something?
Title: Re: Goliath and his spear
Post by: FresnoRedemption on April 26, 2009, 10:16:15 AM
Is the ability on Goliath's Spear sort of treated as an identifier? Like, in a FbtN battle, does Goliath's Spear lose the ability to be 8/10 or something?

Yes, Goliath's Spear would lose the ability to be 8/10 in a FbtN battle, but the name-on-name bonus would still work. Also, I believe that Goliath would not be able to retain the spear in a FbtN battle, because that is part of the SA.
Title: Re: Goliath and his spear
Post by: crustpope on April 29, 2009, 09:04:59 AM
Goliath would be able to retain his armor though because that is listed in the idenifiers and not in the Special Ability
Title: Re: Goliath and his spear
Post by: BubbleBoy on April 29, 2009, 04:16:36 PM
That I know.
Title: Re: Goliath and his spear
Post by: Matman on July 11, 2009, 04:54:43 PM
Is the ability on Goliath's Spear sort of treated as an identifier? Like, in a FbtN battle, does Goliath's Spear lose the ability to be 8/10 or something?

Yes, Goliath's Spear would lose the ability to be 8/10 in a FbtN battle, but the name-on-name bonus would still work. Also, I believe that Goliath would not be able to retain the spear in a FbtN battle, because that is part of the SA.

What is FbtN and SA?
Title: Re: Goliath and his spear
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on July 11, 2009, 04:58:15 PM
FbtN = fight by the numbers (negate all)
SA = special ability
Title: Re: Goliath and his spear
Post by: Matman on July 11, 2009, 06:11:34 PM
Thanks I seem to learn something new eveyday on I am on the boards. ;)
Title: Re: Goliath and his spear
Post by: YourMathTeacher on July 11, 2009, 06:54:38 PM
That's why we're here.  ;D
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal