Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Korunks on August 17, 2009, 12:01:52 PM

Title: Goliath and his gear ...
Post by: Korunks on August 17, 2009, 12:01:52 PM
I am confused on something, If I have Goliath in battle, holding his spear and a strong angel is added to the battle does he lose his spear?  Does it drop down to its face value?


Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Black • Ability: 3 / 2 • Class: Weapon • Special Ability: Worth 8/10 if used by a giant. Goliath may retain as a weapon until discarded. • Identifiers: OT, Depicts a Weapon, must be played as enhancement on Goliath in battle to be retained • Verse: I Samuel 17:7 • Availability: Kings booster packs (Common)
Title: Re: Goliath and his gear ...
Post by: adamfincher on August 17, 2009, 12:11:02 PM
my ruling would be no, as later it was changed in goliaths armor to be an identifier. so it should be the same with the spear.
Title: Re: Goliath and his gear ...
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on August 17, 2009, 12:16:13 PM
Should doesnt mean it is. However, the Identifier does mention him holding it, so I would assume that part cant be negated by TSA.

The 8/10 part however DOES get negated. So instead use the name on name to make it 6/4 at least.
Title: Re: Goliath and his gear ...
Post by: Korunks on August 17, 2009, 12:20:34 PM
I was wondering though it had been ruled identifiers on cards like the Orange brigade X/X were not negated by FBTN.  I wonder if this ability isn't more like those than a regular SA, because it is clarifying the numbers.
Title: Re: Goliath and his gear ...
Post by: sk on August 17, 2009, 12:34:51 PM
Should doesnt mean it is. However, the Identifier does mention him holding it, so I would assume that part cant be negated by TSA.

The 8/10 part however DOES get negated. So instead use the name on name to make it 6/4 at least.
I agree.

I was wondering though it had been ruled identifiers on cards like the Orange brigade X/X were not negated by FBTN.  I wonder if this ability isn't more like those than a regular SA, because it is clarifying the numbers.
The card's SA isn't clarifying the numbers, as X/X and */* cards do, but rather changing the numbers as only a special ability can.
Title: Re: Goliath and his gear ...
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on August 17, 2009, 12:58:07 PM
The card's SA isn't clarifying the numbers, as X/X and */* cards do, but rather changing the numbers as only a special ability can.

Goliath's Spear... Goliath's Spear.... does whatever Goliath's spear does!

Sorry, you reminded me of that. XD
Title: Re: Goliath and his gear ...
Post by: Korunks on August 17, 2009, 01:02:52 PM
Ok so next question, can Goliath carry his armor and his spear?  He is technically not warrior class, so he doesn't violate the rule on holding one correct?
Title: Re: Goliath and his gear ...
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on August 17, 2009, 01:07:12 PM
Correct. He is allowed to hold both.
Title: Re: Goliath and his gear ...
Post by: Korunks on August 17, 2009, 03:13:03 PM
Really?  that is pretty cool :)
Title: Re: Goliath and his gear ...
Post by: SirNobody on August 17, 2009, 04:01:32 PM
Hey,

I am confused on something, If I have Goliath in battle, holding his spear and a strong angel is added to the battle does he lose his spear?  Does it drop down to its face value?

If Goliath's Spear (Kings) is used in a by the numbers battle on Goliath it is not retained by him has a weapon after battle.  And yes it drops down to face value (although it likely then doubles for name on name bonus).

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Goliath and his gear ...
Post by: Korunks on August 17, 2009, 04:19:20 PM
Quote
Should doesnt mean it is. However, the Identifier does mention him holding it, so I would assume that part cant be negated by TSA.

The 8/10 part however DOES get negated. So instead use the name on name to make it 6/4 at least.

Quote
If Goliath's Spear (Kings) is used in a by the numbers battle on Goliath it is not retained by him has a weapon after battle.  And yes it drops down to face value (although it likely then doubles for name on name bonus).


Why not I thought FBTN cannot negate an identifier?
Title: Re: Goliath and his gear ...
Post by: SirNobody on August 17, 2009, 04:33:55 PM
Hey,

Why not I thought FBTN cannot negate an identifier?

Look at the physical card Goliath's Spear (Kings).  Does it have an identifier?

The identifier "must be played as enhancement on Goliath in battle to be retained" was added by Mike as a "play as identifier" to clarify that you cannot put the card on Goliath in your territory like you can normally do with weapon/warriors.  The added identifier does not allow Goliath to retain the weapon (the ability does that) but simply tries to clarify the process.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal