Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: birukfm on September 05, 2014, 02:22:07 PM

Title: Goliath and conversion
Post by: birukfm on September 05, 2014, 02:22:07 PM
if Goliath is converted and he enters battle, and his ability activates does that mean he returns to territory. due to his ability. or is it thought of as when blocking
Title: Re: Goliath and conversion
Post by: EmJayBee83 on September 05, 2014, 03:14:27 PM
Special Abilities on Evil Characters that specifically target Heroes do not convert if the EC is converted.

This being the case, a converted Goliath loses the ability to "Return all Heroes in battle to territory (except giant-slayers). Opponent may present a new Hero." He does, however, retain "Negate all band, draw, and play abilities. Cannot be negated."
Title: Re: Goliath and conversion
Post by: birukfm on September 05, 2014, 04:03:51 PM
okay thank you
Title: Re: Goliath and conversion
Post by: Noah on September 05, 2014, 09:32:35 PM
Special Abilities on Evil Characters that specifically target Heroes do not convert if the EC is converted.

At Nats this year it was ruled during booster draft that the ability on King Tiglath-Pileser III still works after he's converted,

"If block is successful, holder may capture an O.T. human Hero in a territory."
Title: Re: Goliath and conversion
Post by: YourMathTeacher on September 05, 2014, 09:49:18 PM
At Nats this year it was ruled during booster draft that the ability on King Tiglath-Pileser III still works after he's converted,

"If block is successful, holder may capture an O.T. human Hero in a territory."

That was an incorrect ruling based on the current known rules.
Title: Re: Goliath and conversion
Post by: Redoubter on September 06, 2014, 07:01:38 PM
At Nats this year it was ruled during booster draft that the ability on King Tiglath-Pileser III still works after he's converted,

"If block is successful, holder may capture an O.T. human Hero in a territory."

That was an incorrect ruling based on the current known rules.

I agree that the ability should not convert, I wonder if there was something in the ruling that it was interpreted that it just cannot affect heroes in battle?  But that's not the rule to my knowledge.
Title: Re: Goliath and conversion
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on September 07, 2014, 12:23:44 AM
At Nats this year it was ruled during booster draft that the ability on King Tiglath-Pileser III still works after he's converted,

"If block is successful, holder may capture an O.T. human Hero in a territory."

That was an incorrect ruling based on the current known rules.

I agree that the ability should not convert, I wonder if there was something in the ruling that it was interpreted that it just cannot affect heroes in battle?  But that's not the rule to my knowledge.

That was my bad.

For some reason I thought we were still on the "Unhero like' ability definition. I'm somewhat positive it didn't end up mattering, but I was made aware of my mistake sometime after.
Title: Re: Goliath and conversion
Post by: YourMathTeacher on September 07, 2014, 12:43:40 AM
That was my bad.

For some reason I thought we were still on the "Unhero like' ability definition. I'm somewhat positive it didn't end up mattering, but I was made aware of my mistake sometime after.

This is completely unforgivable. As punishment, you must either give up one of the blue stars under your name, or remove the last letter from your screen name. So, would you rather be a four-star moderator, or an Asgardian reptile?
Title: Re: Goliath and conversion
Post by: ChristianSoldier on September 07, 2014, 01:08:41 AM
So, would you rather be a four-star moderator, or an Asgardian reptile?

I personally recommend the Asgardian reptile.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal