Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: burlow on June 14, 2012, 09:21:49 AM

Title: Goliath (Limited) and Territory Class Enhancements
Post by: burlow on June 14, 2012, 09:21:49 AM
I have two questions, and am having a hard time locating the explanations (the search box hasn't been work for me).

That said, sorry if these have been discussed before -

1) can Goliath (non-warrior-class, ie, Limited/Unlimited) hold his spear (from Kings - "Goliath may retain this as a weapon until discarded") and Goliath's Armor (from TeP - "Goliath may retain as a weapon") at the same time?

2) can someone point me to the ruling/explanations on territory-class enhancements? I need to get up to speed on them from the beginning (ie, I know nothing about them except that they can be played on characters in your territory).
Title: Re: Goliath (Limited) and Territory Class Enhancements
Post by: Nameless on June 14, 2012, 09:27:40 AM
1. This has been discussed multiple times before and I think the answer is no.
2. They can be played as normal enhancements or you can play then in your territory.
Title: Re: Goliath (Limited) and Territory Class Enhancements
Post by: burlow on June 14, 2012, 09:29:06 AM
2) If they are played in a territory, and that character then enters battle, are the territory-class enhancements discarded after battle?
Title: Re: Goliath (Limited) and Territory Class Enhancements
Post by: Ken4Christ4ever on June 14, 2012, 09:36:41 AM
1) No, he can only hold one of them (see Gabe's post in this thread: http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/goliath's-items-question/ (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/goliath's-items-question/))

2) Nameless is correct. Territory class enhancements activate just like regular enhancements except that they can be played in your territory during your preparation or discard phase. When they activate, they do what they say and are discarded right after that (if played in territory) unless they say to place them somewhere.
Title: Re: Goliath (Limited) and Territory Class Enhancements
Post by: YourMathTeacher on June 14, 2012, 09:50:45 AM
That thread was based on the new WC Goliath. This thread is asking about the non-WC Goliath. I'm not sure that ruling applies here. We can, of course, make the ruling the same and for the same reason. I just wanted to clarify why I ruled the way I did in that earlier thread.

Basically, WC characters have special rules for retaining weapons. Non-WC characters do not. I believe we had previously ruled that non-WC Goliath could hold all his weapons/armor. Elder verification would be appreciated.
Title: Re: Goliath (Limited) and Territory Class Enhancements
Post by: Professoralstad on June 14, 2012, 10:11:51 AM
That thread was based on the new WC Goliath. This thread is asking about the non-WC Goliath. I'm not sure that ruling applies here. We can, of course, make the ruling the same and for the same reason. I just wanted to clarify why I ruled the way I did in that earlier thread.

Basically, WC characters have special rules for retaining weapons. Non-WC characters do not. I believe we had previously ruled that non-WC Goliath could hold all his weapons/armor. Elder verification would be appreciated.

IIRC, the ruling was that "Goliath may retain as a weapon" signified that it was as if you could treat old Goliath as a WC character in regards to his stuff. So that it really means: "Goliath may retain this card as if he were a WC EC". I don't think it was ever ruled that he could keep both simultaneously, but if it was, I would need to see the ruling, else I would have to rule non-WC Goliath the same way as WC Goliath, thus he can hold only one of his weapons.
Title: Re: Goliath (Limited) and Territory Class Enhancements
Post by: Ken4Christ4ever on June 14, 2012, 10:24:46 AM
Okay, I did some more searching, and the REG Corrections thread says that Goliath may hold one of each weapon designated for him. (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/redemption-official-rules/reg-updates/msg112835/#msg112835 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/redemption-official-rules/reg-updates/msg112835/#msg112835)) This post was from 2007, so it is definitely referring to the older Goliath. Since you did specify the warrior-class one in the other thread, that would leave us with this:

The original Goliath may hold one of each weapon designated for him.
The promo Goliath may only hold one weapon.
Title: Re: Goliath (Limited) and Territory Class Enhancements
Post by: YourMathTeacher on June 14, 2012, 11:25:49 AM
That is the way that I have been ruling it. However, if the Elders think that should be changed for consistency, I will not fight it. Personally I think giving the old Goliath some firepower is a good thing.
Title: Re: Goliath (Limited) and Territory Class Enhancements
Post by: Professoralstad on June 14, 2012, 02:31:29 PM
I don't know if it's really "firepower" per se, but I guess if that is the ruling (as it does seem to be) then that's what I'd go with.
Title: Re: Goliath (Limited) and Territory Class Enhancements
Post by: Minion of Jesus on June 14, 2012, 02:33:13 PM
The old Goliath is cooler then the new one. 8)
Title: Re: Goliath (Limited) and Territory Class Enhancements
Post by: megamanlan on June 14, 2012, 03:20:09 PM
The newer one is more useful and annoying.
Title: Re: Goliath (Limited) and Territory Class Enhancements
Post by: Minion of Jesus on June 15, 2012, 08:26:06 AM
still, I only own the old one.
Title: Re: Goliath (Limited) and Territory Class Enhancements
Post by: burlow on June 15, 2012, 01:27:16 PM
Okay, I did some more searching, and the REG Corrections thread says that Goliath may hold one of each weapon designated for him. (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/redemption-official-rules/reg-updates/msg112835/#msg112835 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/redemption-official-rules/reg-updates/msg112835/#msg112835)) This post was from 2007, so it is definitely referring to the older Goliath. Since you did specify the warrior-class one in the other thread, that would leave us with this:

The original Goliath may hold one of each weapon designated for him.
The promo Goliath may only hold one weapon.

Thanks so much for the help. It looks like the old Goliath can hold multiple cards. What's the best way to search these forums? I have more questions, but don't want to be "that guy", and yet the search box just gives me an error whenever I use it.

Thanks again.
Title: Re: Goliath (Limited) and Territory Class Enhancements
Post by: megamanlan on June 15, 2012, 02:12:44 PM
Unfortunately the Search function is broken, I think it might work if you use the Google site search.
Title: Re: Goliath (Limited) and Territory Class Enhancements
Post by: Ken4Christ4ever on June 15, 2012, 03:15:54 PM
Yes, the best option is to go to Google and type: site:www.cactusgamedesign.com goliath armor spear

That's an example of how I found the information on this. You can obviously change what you put as your search terms after the web address. I hope that helps!
Title: Re: Goliath (Limited) and Territory Class Enhancements
Post by: megamanlan on June 15, 2012, 03:24:26 PM
I found that out from ur site Ken, thanks!
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal