Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Egyptian on June 08, 2011, 10:26:58 AM

Title: Goliath(P) and Wall
Post by: Egyptian on June 08, 2011, 10:26:58 AM
Howdy - wondering about Goliath (Promo) and Wall of Protection.

Goliath's ability says that opponent may present a new hero if he kicks heroes out of battle. Is the new hero considered to be "brought into battle" by Goliath? If so, isn't this a problem if rescuing player has Wall of Protection up? (i.e. does this effectively kill Wall of Protection).

It doesn't seem like the intent of Goliath's wording would be for rescuer's Wall of Protection to make Goliath a non-negatable repeatable auto-block :-) ... but I just wanted to make sure. Thanks, and apologies if this has already been asked.

-EgYpTiAn
Title: Re: Goliath(P) and Wall
Post by: Townsend on June 08, 2011, 10:50:33 AM
Its been talked about before on one of the Goliath threads (not sure which one) and I think they said you cannot present a new hero but Im not sure on that one.
Title: Re: Goliath(P) and Wall
Post by: Egyptian on June 08, 2011, 10:55:51 AM
Its been talked about before on one of the Goliath threads (not sure which one) and I think they said you cannot present a new hero but Im not sure on that one.

Interesting...I wasn't able to find that thread on search... would like one of the bigwigs to weigh in on this...seems wrong because Goliath text says, "opponent may present" so it's by definition not Goliath but the opponent that's presenting the hero...anyway if you're right this nearly breaks the game because it turns Goliath into a non-negatable autoblock against every hero except for a small handful of OT giant-slayers (which are now going to have to be in pretty much every deck).

I can't imagine that this was the intent when the card was created... wasn't this issue of Goliath & Wall of Protection playtested and vetted out?
Title: Re: Goliath(P) and Wall
Post by: Warrior_Monk on June 08, 2011, 11:07:12 AM
Gabe is correct. The original wording on WoP protects from CTR, so to not include it would be errata. Since no errata has been issued for WoP, Goliath (as well as Lion Dwelling with the Calf and similar cards) are battle-winners with Wall up (excepting a character from hand).

Simple, just don't use WoP. Or rely on your opponents not using Goliath...
Title: Re: Goliath(P) and Wall
Post by: Ken4Christ4ever on June 08, 2011, 11:15:33 AM
Gabe is correct. The original wording on WoP protects from CTR, so to not include it would be errata. Since no errata has been issued for WoP, Goliath (as well as Lion Dwelling with the Calf and similar cards) are battle-winners with Wall up (excepting a character from hand).

Simple, just don't use WoP. Or rely on your opponents not using Goliath...

Or keep characters in your hand...
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal