Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Jeremystair on May 31, 2017, 11:28:53 AM

Title: Golden cherubim
Post by: Jeremystair on May 31, 2017, 11:28:53 AM
Since the golden cherubim cannot be negated is it an ongoing effect? if your opponent discards it and then draws can you still search out because the effect is still ongoing?
Title: Re: Golden cherubim
Post by: jbeers285 on May 31, 2017, 11:38:15 AM
Since the golden cherubim cannot be negated is it an ongoing effect? if your opponent discards it and then draws can you still search out because the effect is still ongoing?

If you are in the same phase it was discarded then yes.

It's ability remains active through the phase in which it was discarded.
Title: Re: Golden cherubim
Post by: The Guardian on May 31, 2017, 11:47:23 AM
Since the golden cherubim cannot be negated is it an ongoing effect? if your opponent discards it and then draws can you still search out because the effect is still ongoing?

Nope. The REG states:

Quote from: REG Triggered Abilities
Optional triggered abilities may only be activated while the card it is on is controlled by the holder and is either in play or set aside area.
Title: Re: Golden cherubim
Post by: jbeers285 on May 31, 2017, 12:44:15 PM
Since the golden cherubim cannot be negated is it an ongoing effect? if your opponent discards it and then draws can you still search out because the effect is still ongoing?

Nope. The REG states:

Quote from: REG Triggered Abilities
Optional triggered abilities may only be activated while the card it is on is controlled by the holder and is either in play or set aside area.

Oops, forgot the trigger aspect of that. Thanks Justin.
Title: Re: Golden cherubim
Post by: The Guardian on May 31, 2017, 12:57:04 PM
No worries--I had to double check myself.  :P
Title: Re: Golden cherubim
Post by: Josh on June 01, 2017, 09:14:58 AM
This is how I've always remembered the rule:

"Mandatory ongoing abilities persist (after leaving play), optional ongoing abilities do not."
Title: Re: Golden cherubim
Post by: The Guardian on June 01, 2017, 09:56:29 AM
This is how I've always remembered the rule:

"Mandatory ongoing abilities persist (after leaving play), optional ongoing abilities do not."

And of course that's exactly what the REG says...cuz jmhartz is that good.  8)
Title: Re: Golden cherubim
Post by: TheHobbit13 on June 09, 2017, 08:43:48 PM
This seems like a nonsensical distinction between mandatory and optional triggers... especially because at its conception, golden cherubim was likely worded cbn to work when discarded by all the negat and dc cards lol Makes Habakkuk and Joab very lackluster also. It would make sense to me to reassess that rule in the REG. What is it about an optional trigger that makes it not work when out of play? How does the card not being in play imply that you choose to not use the "may". Because all that is obvious about optional triggers is that it is ongoing and you get the option to uses it or not when it triggers.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal