Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Tracer Burnout on March 30, 2010, 02:37:36 PM
-
If I discard a gold shield from my evil character to change the brigade of my opponent(say from red to white). Does this allow him to play a Red negate?
-
nope. which is why shield is so awesome.
-
Correct. You are not removing the Hero from battle with GS, so there is no "special initiative" granted when you play it. So it completes, and by the time your opponent could negate it, his hero is white.
-
Correct. You are not removing the Hero from battle with GS, so there is no "special initiative" granted when you play it. So it completes, and by the time your opponent could negate it, his hero is white.
What if init is transfered after GShield fires off, could a negate be played then?
-
Nope. The ability has been completed.
-
a negate in the color converted to could be played. i think some negates can hit gold shiled...
-
a negate in the color converted to could be played. i think some negates can hit gold shiled...
Correct. A "negate last enhancement" card would negate Gold Shield, and an "interrupt the battle" card would interrupt it. However, a negate all, like Blessings, would not negate it, since it isn't in play to be negated at the time.
-
a negate in the color converted to could be played. i think some negates can hit gold shiled...
Correct. A "negate last enhancement" card would negate Gold Shield, and an "interrupt the battle" card would interrupt it. However, a negate all, like Blessings, would not negate it, since it isn't in play to be negated at the time.
But that "negate last enhancement" would have to be the color of the brigade that the hero is AFTER the Gold Shield has changed it right? Same with interrupt?
-
A "negate last enhancement" card would negate Gold Shield...
"Negate last enhancement" cards typically end with the words "played this battle," or something similar, do they not? Seems to me like this would not work, as Gold Shield was not actually "played" during that battle. Am I missing something?
-
It was played via activation.
-
now my question is ....
a ec converted with gold shield via HG. That ec makes a rescue attempt can it now use gold shield on any hero to change its color?
-
now my question is ....
a ec converted with gold shield via HG. That ec makes a rescue attempt can it now use gold shield on any hero to change its color?
Yes. Weapons convert. Changing a Heroes brigade is not harming it. The ability works. Have fun. :)
-
now my question is ....
a ec converted with gold shield via HG. That ec makes a rescue attempt can it now use gold shield on any hero to change its color?
Yes. Weapons convert. Changing a Heroes brigade is not harming it. The ability works. Have fun. :)
Question: Heroes can't harm other heroes (Per the ANB ruling) so does that mean all ec's converted abilities work?
-
It was played via activation.
Did that ever actually get settled?
-
a negate in the color converted to could be played. i think some negates can hit gold shiled...
Correct. A "negate last enhancement" card would negate Gold Shield, and an "interrupt the battle" card would interrupt it. However, a negate all, like Blessings, would not negate it, since it isn't in play to be negated at the time.
But that "negate last enhancement" would have to be the color of the brigade that the hero is AFTER the Gold Shield has changed it right? Same with interrupt?
Can anyone answer this question?
-
But that "negate last enhancement" would have to be the color of the brigade that the hero is AFTER the Gold Shield has changed it right? Same with interrupt?
Correct. Gold Shield is awesome. :D
And yes, Gold Shield is considered played.
Kirk
-
Thank you Kirk
-
And yes, Gold Shield is considered played.
Do you have any evidence?!?!? :o
-
At least in my opinion, it seems reasonable that any card that activates during a battle is a card that you "played." You played the card in battle along with the character that it resides on.
Kirk
-
At least in my opinion, it seems reasonable that any card that activates during a battle is a card that you "played." You played the card in battle along with the character that it resides on.
Kirk
Personally, I feel like to play a card should have something to do with putting it in play, but I suppose anything can be defined dumbly in Redemption. :P
-
At least in my opinion, it seems reasonable that any card that activates during a battle is a card that you "played." You played the card in battle along with the character that it resides on.
Kirk
Personally, I feel like to play a card should have something to do with putting it in play, but I suppose anything can be defined dumbly in Redemption. :P
I agree. otherwise that one card from Tin 11 is basically useless.
-
At least in my opinion, it seems reasonable that any card that activates during a battle is a card that you "played." You played the card in battle along with the character that it resides on.
Kirk
Personally, I feel like to play a card should have something to do with putting it in play, but I suppose anything can be defined dumbly in Redemption. :P
Isn't it in play when its in battle? After it is discarded then it's not longer IN play and therefore can't be targeted by a negate right?
-
I would like to see a scrap of evidence that cards are "played" when they enter battle. If I were a judge, I would rule that they are not.
-
It was ruled with ruthless vs adino's spear that weapons (when no other enh is played) are the last enhancements played cuz they were the last enhancements to enter battle.
-
Isn't it in play when its in battle? After it is discarded then it's not longer IN play and therefore can't be targeted by a negate right?
There are a few negates that can specifically target them, even though they are no longer in play. I can't think of the list off the top of my head.
Kirk
-
Any enhancement that says to negate the last enhancement card played can negate a discarded card. Also, interrupt the battle interrupts the last enhancement played, so that would work too.
-
Any enhancement that says to negate the last enhancement card played can negate a discarded card. Also, interrupt the battle interrupts the last enhancement played, so that would work too.
Okay, but just to be clear they would have to be of the brigade color that the hero was changed too....right?
-
Yes. You don't get special initiative to interrupt unless you are being removed from battle. Gold Shield isn't removing you from battle.
-
Yes. You don't get special initiative to interrupt unless you are being removed from battle. Gold Shield isn't removing you from battle.
Vonderful!!!
-
I think it's dumb that even a negate last enhancement can negate it, since it wasn't played! But whatever...it's already practically unstoppable anyway. :P
-
I think it's dumb that even a negate last enhancement can negate it, since it wasn't played! But whatever...it's already practically unstoppable anyway. :P
It was playced. ;)
-
The negate last enhancement ruling has been in place for quite some time, ever since someone wanted to interrupt Abner's Spear (which was quite the popular card back in the day). I guess with the unsettled definition of "played" I may be wrong, but what I've said is how it's been ruled in the past.
-
I guess with the unsettled definition of "played" I may be wrong ...
I doubt it, but I hope so.
-
I'd much rather the whole "playce" debate be settled piecemeal, then the question would be answered anyhow.