Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Captain Kirk on August 05, 2010, 07:42:55 PM
-
I had no heroes in play and my opponent used Given Over to Egypt and discarded Zebulun off the top of my deck. Can I play the Body of Christ to heal him?
Kirk
-
I had no heroes in play and my opponent used Given Over to Egypt and discarded Zebulun off the top of my deck. Can I play the Body of Christ to heal him?
Kirk
I would say yes.
-
How to Use
Healing cards may be activated on any character in play (e.g., territory) of matching brigade color. They may target any card being discarded or subject to a poison or disease special ability, regardless of brigade color. The healing effect is instant, not delayed. You can play a healing enhancement at any time to restore a character sent to the discard pile at any previous time during the turn (e.g., Draw Phase or Preparation Phase). The discarded character may come from battle, a territory, a set-aside area, or from a draw pile (e.g., Confusion). Cards being discarded can be healed on the way to the discard pile. Cards being discarded from anywhere may be healed at any point during that turn. Characters discarded on a previous turn cannot be healed. A healed card is immediately placed in the owner’s territory; they retain all their abilities.
I think it is unclear whether you can play a healing enhancement on a character not in play because like territory and setaside enhancements you have to have someone to play them off of. Ive always been told that you can heal a character being discarded from the deck with cards like brass serpant but i feel like the REG should be more clear if thats the case...
-
I think it is unclear as well. The REG says "may be activated on any character in play," not "must." Also, how can you heal from Wrath of Satan if you have to have someone in territory to heal with?
Kirk
-
I would want it to be a yes... but I think it is a no. Also you can heal with Wrath of Satan because I remember something a while ago about heroes not being discarded until end of phase because they are checking for resolution. So the heroes do not go directly into discard pile until after, so you can heal them.
And the no to Zebby because you can not target something out of play.
-
And the no to Zebby because you can not target something out of play.
don't you have until the end of the phase?
-
Yes, but Zebby would never have been in play, He would go straight from draw pile to d/c pile without having been in play.
-
Where is that in the REG/rulebook?
Kirk
-
Wait till after nationals? Lol I don't know.
-
There has to be a Hero in play to play the healing Enhancement. It's just like you cannot play a EE with High Places if you don't have a character in play of the same brigade.
See the first line of RTSManic's REG quote.
-
Oh Snap Kirk! I know why you asked that question! Dang. That stinks. But it is easily fixable if you can get a hero out first.
-
There has to be a Hero in play to play the healing Enhancement. It's just like you cannot play a EE with High Places if you don't have a character in play of the same brigade.
See the first line of RTSManic's REG quote.
But there are no heroes in play after Wrath of Satan? I know it bends the rules, but it just seems like it is not spelled out clearly.
Is the reason I can heal from Wrath of Satan because they were in play at some point earlier that turn?
So if all of my heroes are set aside with Pentecost and my opponent uses Darius' Decree to discard them that turn, can I heal them since they were in play at some point earlier that turn?
Or can the healing card only be played on a hero that was in play when the discard happened to the hero?
Kirk
-
The REG says that "immediately discarded" and "about to be discarded" are the same thing. Thus, in the WoS example, the ECs are "about to discarded" until you have played whatever you can play before the turn ends, namely a Healing Card.
-
The REG says that "immediately discarded" and "about to be discarded" are the same thing. Thus, in the WoS example, the ECs are "about to discarded" until you have played whatever you can play before the turn ends, namely a Healing Card.
So they hover between the place they were before being discarded and the d/c pile? Would that be a good way to explain it? If so, that would make sense for why I can't heal Zebulun in this example or my set aside heroes.
Kirk
-
That is how I have always envisioned it, which also explains why a character with gained abilities that was discarded earlier in the turn still keeps their gained abilities when healed. The character does not reset because they did not necessarily enter the Discard Pile.
-
That is how I have always envisioned it, which also explains why a character with gained abilities that was discarded earlier in the turn still keeps their gained abilities when healed. The character does not reset because they did not necessarily enter the Discard Pile.
Hooray for Torment and Fallen Warrior!
-
Hey,
I'm inclined to disagree with Gabe and say that you could heal him. Although there is a change very likely to be made after nationals that will make the answer no regardless of whether or not you have another hero in your territory.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
-
Hey,
I'm inclined to disagree with Gabe and say that you could heal him. Although there is a change very likely to be made after nationals that will make the answer no regardless of whether or not you have another hero in your territory.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Explanashun Plz? Why dissagree?
-
Hey,
Explanashun Plz?
I don't understand that question....could you maybe translate it into English for me :P
Why dissagree?
I have a general approach to healing rulings which is that if anyone asks if you can heal in a certain situation the answer is always yes :) The new REG also has some weird wording about playing healing enhancements on characters in the discard pile.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly