Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: browarod on May 28, 2013, 07:00:00 PM

Title: Gibeonite Curse
Post by: browarod on May 28, 2013, 07:00:00 PM
Can I discard an EC from the opponent's deck with Gibeonite Curse? I'm wondering if "same icon" is referring to the Dominant, the EC, or both/either.

Gibeonite Curse
Capture your black Canaanite and remove a Dominant in an opponent's discard pile from the game to search his deck for a card with the same icon and discard it.
Title: Re: Gibeonite Curse
Post by: Nameless on May 28, 2013, 07:59:04 PM
Everyone has always played it as discarding a dominant and I would assume that that is the way it is.
Title: Re: Gibeonite Curse
Post by: Redoubter on May 28, 2013, 10:11:57 PM
Dominants have different icons than characters or enhancements...

So no, you cannot.  It has to have the same icon as the dominant you removed.  Meaning if you remove a good dom, you discard a good dom, and if you remove an evil dom, you discard an evil dom.  Only those options.

I understand your question in regards to the wording, but the capture is the first cost, then there is a second cost that is actually referenced in the benefit.
Title: Re: Gibeonite Curse
Post by: browarod on May 29, 2013, 08:50:25 AM
I understand your question in regards to the wording, but the capture is the first cost, then there is a second cost that is actually referenced in the benefit.
Grammatically speaking, the "same icon" could refer to either card as it's all one sentence (and one, multi-part cost) so I guess I was just wondering why I couldn't remove an EC. A bit much of a cost just to discard an EC from their deck, but you never know when it might come in handy! (like if they have no Dominants left in their deck and you don't want to have wasted the cost)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal