Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: sepjazzwarrior on January 15, 2012, 01:51:37 PM

Title: gathering question
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on January 15, 2012, 01:51:37 PM
is this a legal play?:

Hero with banding ability has been set-aside on gathering.  When hero enters battle, he uses his ability to band to a character, then that character bands to another character who places an enhancement on another character in territory.  origional hero then uses gathering to band into battle the hero from territory that has the placed enhancement on him.
Title: Re: gathering question
Post by: galadgawyn on January 15, 2012, 01:55:56 PM
yes
Title: Re: gathering question
Post by: browarod on January 15, 2012, 02:35:03 PM
I'm actually not sure. Banding abilities generally happen simultaneously (at least, that's how I've had it ruled with stuff like CotW, Mary Mother of James, etc.) so I would think both heroes you're banding to would be in battle before you activate either of their abilities (so before the enhancement is placed).
Title: Re: gathering question
Post by: galadgawyn on January 15, 2012, 02:51:26 PM
If it is one ability that bands them both in (battle cry, babel, etc) then that is true. 

However, here you have two seperate abilities.  The abilities are activated at the same time but carried out one at a time in order.  So I don't think you choose the target for Gathering until the first band ability (and its resulting chain) is completed and therefore the character with a placed enhancement in territory is a legal target.
Title: Re: gathering question
Post by: browarod on January 15, 2012, 02:53:51 PM
"May band to Salome, Mary Magdalene, and/or Joanna" technically counts as separate abilities, too (because you choose individually which bands you are going to use) so I see no reason to treat them differently.
Title: Re: gathering question
Post by: galadgawyn on January 15, 2012, 03:01:35 PM
I think something is wrong there.
That ability is a little bit different.  I would say that either you bring in those heroes one at a time or it is in fact one ability and they come in at the same time.  I would lean towards saying it is one ability.
Title: Re: gathering question
Post by: browarod on January 15, 2012, 03:11:01 PM
Like I said, I'm not sure. I can see it either way.
Title: Re: gathering question
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on January 15, 2012, 03:19:59 PM
Galad is correct - This was one of the base combo's for the eternal ANB deck a couple years ago.
Title: Re: gathering question
Post by: Minister Polarius on January 16, 2012, 05:16:37 PM
To clarify, the reason this is different than MtMoJ is that multiple abilities activate first in order of abilities (banding last and that sort of thing), then in order printed on card. That's why DoN doesn't kill LotS (it's Discard, then Negate Discarded, rather than negate, then Discard). If you Gather a Hero with a banding ability, it essentially reads "band to a Hero. Band to a Hero." The first band, and everything that entails happens, then the second band happens.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal