Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Gabe on March 12, 2009, 01:54:31 PM

Title: Gather me once, Gather me twice...
Post by: Gabe on March 12, 2009, 01:54:31 PM
If a Hero has been set aside with Gathering of Angels, then he's set aside a second time with Gathering of Angels, does he get to band to two Heroes when he enters battle?

At the time two tournament last weekend I heard some very knowledgable players rule both ways so I'm curious as to what the official answer is.

Gathering of Angels
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Silver • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Set Hero aside for 4 turns. On return Hero gains ability to band to any Hero until discarded.
Title: Re: Gather me once, Gather me twice...
Post by: Hedgehogman on March 12, 2009, 02:06:05 PM
I would say yes, because both are separate abilities taking place at different times from two different cards.

Also, if you can't grant characters multiple similar abilities through set aside, then that means that you can't play two Ezekiel's Sticks in one battle either.
Title: Re: Gather me once, Gather me twice...
Post by: Rubber band warrior on March 12, 2009, 02:18:39 PM
I don't know if there's anything in the rulebook that says otherwise, but I agree with Hedgehogman. I see no reason why you couldn't get two banding special abilities out of two Gathering of Angels. You can gain abilities (*/*) from multiple different set asides, I don't see why this would be any different.
Title: Re: Gather me once, Gather me twice...
Post by: Bryon on March 12, 2009, 02:26:39 PM
I agree.  A character could say "May band to a hero.  May band to a hero." and would band to two other heroes.
Title: Re: Gather me once, Gather me twice...
Post by: Gabe on March 12, 2009, 02:46:05 PM
Thanks, everyone.  That was my assumption and also how Bill ruled it.  Another correct ruling for "Wild Bill"!  :)
Title: Re: Gather me once, Gather me twice...
Post by: JSB23 on March 12, 2009, 03:21:28 PM
Yes
Title: Re: Gather me once, Gather me twice...
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 12, 2009, 06:24:09 PM
FWIW, the REG supports this:

Instant Abilities -> Set-Aside -> Special Conditions

•      If a Hero was previously a banding card, each Gathering of Angels card adds an additional Hero that may be banded into battle.  Multiple Gathering of Angels cards may be played on the same Hero.
Title: Re: Gather me once, Gather me twice...
Post by: New Raven BR on March 13, 2009, 12:01:02 AM
i love how pros post threads to ask questions about the game.

anyways having 2 gatherings in deck is intresting cause when gabriel ,mary mother of jesus or joseph the carpenter are played with them they can have a nativity band.
with another gathering and banded to the magi and you have an even more nativity band
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal