Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: sepjazzwarrior on June 28, 2017, 09:16:13 AM
-
moses is in territory. I block a RA and play gams speech. is it negated immediately in territory or because I played it in battle can I still use it to negate a card during this battle? basically when does moses start negating gams speech?
moses: blah blah blah, negate enhancements in territory
gams speech: place in territory: discard no negate and discard an enhancement
-
When Gam's Speech is placed in territory and Moses (CoW) is active in a territory, it gets negated and sent back to battle as a negated enhancement.
Correction--please see jmhartz's reply below. I shouldn't be answering questions before fully waking up... ::)
-
Moses' ongoing ability is a Prevent, which only stops enhancements from activating in the first place. It can't do anything to enhancements that have already activated - at that point, they need to be interrupted or negated.
Therefore, placed enhancements that are activated in battle work when Moses is in territory.
(Justin, you agreed with this in this thread (http://www.cactusforums.com/ruling-questions/moses-placed-ees/msg562991/#msg562991) ;) )
-
Moses' ongoing ability is a Prevent, which only stops enhancements from activating in the first place. It can't do anything to enhancements that have already activated - at that point, they need to be interrupted or negated.
Therefore, placed enhancements that are activated in battle work when Moses is in territory.
(Justin, you agreed with this in this thread (http://www.cactusforums.com/ruling-questions/moses-placed-ees/msg562991/#msg562991) ;) )
So if Moses were to enter battle after sitting in territory(Reactivated ability) with Gam's Speech in territory and working, Gam's Speech would still work? Wouldn't Moses negate GS after entering battle?
-
So if Moses were to enter battle after sitting in territory(Reactivated ability) with Gam's Speech in territory and working, Gam's Speech would still work? Wouldn't Moses negate GS after entering battle?
If Moses' ability reactivates due to entering battle or entering territory, then he would negate Gam's Speech, as long as Gam's Speech wasn't CBN (such as if it had been played on Peter).
-
I see...seems as though everybody is trying to find loopholes to get around Moses. That's what Christian Martyr is for.
-
in my experience, Hypocrisy->mayhem and invoking terror are the best ways to get rid of him. cm is preferable, but not recurable. hypocrisy is awesome mid-late game to really slow your opponent down, and it's super easy to get back as long as you have 2-3 multi colored magicians, which isn't too hard to splash into most decks.
-
in my experience, Hypocrisy->mayhem and invoking terror are the best ways to get rid of him. cm is preferable, but not recurable. hypocrisy is awesome mid-late game to really slow your opponent down, and it's super easy to get back as long as you have 2-3 multi colored magicians, which isn't too hard to splash into most decks.
For sure. Crimson is splashed in on a lot a cards these days anyway(e.g. Lions, Astrologers, etc.) making it very viable indeed.
-
Thorns and Thistles works too.
-
Thorns and Thistles works too.
Holy of Holies as well.
-
Covenant with Death.
-
Surprised no one is saying Punisher yet.
-
Thorns and Thistles works too.
Holy of Holies as well.
Not as well...Holy of Holies is a prevent so it doesn't negate Moses if he's already active.
-
Peanut butter works really well too.