Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Korunks on July 15, 2009, 10:32:56 AM
-
I am having trouble finding this information in the REG. When a player gains */* numbers or special abilities in a permanent manner, does returning that character to owners hand "undo" those gains? If not does returning to draw pile accomplish this?
-
I don't know where it is in the REG, but I do know that it is typically ruled that a card returning to hand or draw pile resets and would lose abilities gained from being set aside.
-
How to Use
...Cards returned to your hand return to face value and cards returned to your territory retain their abilities...
Here's the REG quote for returning to hand. I couldn't find the REG reference for return to draw pile or discard pile, but I know the rule is that they reset.
-
If the card that gave them the extra ability said "...for the remainder of the game," then it would not reset in hand or draw pile.
-
If the card that gave them the extra ability said "...for the remainder of the game," then it would not reset in hand or draw pile.
BubbleBoy I don't believe that is the case. The "remainder of the game" implies it being in play. Once it goes to hand or draw pile the ability does resets. The best example is in T2. I may have given a hero a gained ability but that does not mean every copy of that hero has that same ability. So if it gets shuffled then you would have to some how mark that specific card to know if that version of the card had the gained abilities. Same with in your hand. So the point being, a card returned to hand or deck lose gained abilities.
-
Right. I believe it was discussed in a previous thread that Abel's ability would reset, since his ability says "remainder of game", whereas Jephthah/Amaziah et al. say "once per game" so the ability only works once no matter how many copies are in your deck.