Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Gabe on September 10, 2015, 02:58:06 PM

Title: Fortify Site - In Territory?
Post by: Gabe on September 10, 2015, 02:58:06 PM
A situation came up in a game in a game and I'm not 100% confident that my interpretation is correct so I'd like some feedback from others.

Teddy uses Fortify Site to put his black Canaanite in play (his territory). He then uses Canaan to give that same protected Canaanite to his opponent Kyle.

Is the donated Canaanite still protected from Kyle?

What I'm really asking is what do we mean by "in territory"? Is it short for "in your territory" (not protected since it left your territory), "in a territory" (probably not protected since that's a singular territory although that's still debatable language) or in the game zone called territory (it would be protected since it remains in the game zone known as territory).

Quote
Search discard pile for a black Canaanite or a Canaanite Site and put it in play to discard an Artifact. Protect it from opponents while it remains in territory.
Quote
Protect Canaanites in territory from conversion. You may discard this Site and give an opponent a black Canaanite to capture a hero in that territory.

(https://www.cactusforums.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Flandofredemption.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2015%2F04%2FFortify_Site_RA_pv.jpg&hash=e8ca454bc57dbc0aaeaaf413119ed64daa61e7d3)

(https://www.cactusforums.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Flandofredemption.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2015%2F04%2FCanaan_RA_pv.jpg&hash=4dc21020a8345162810314cbe731debc787c3069)
Title: Re: Fortify Site - In Territory?
Post by: Redoubter on September 10, 2015, 04:48:22 PM
Is the donated Canaanite still protected from Kyle?

As someone who has tried to abuse this in the past, I can say that the consistent ruling I have received is "no, it is not."

The reason being came from a long thread in which I argued strenuously (pre-Judge status, mind) that "while in territory" meant "while in ANY territory."  However, it was ruled by several Elders that it really means "while in the territory in which it was placed," or consistent with other "while X" effects ("while in that SPECIFIC location"), such that once it goes to another territory it is no longer protected because it is in a different location.
Title: Re: Fortify Site - In Territory?
Post by: uthminister [BR] on September 10, 2015, 04:50:03 PM
I would say that "in territory" defaults to the territory of the player who controls Canaan.
Title: Re: Fortify Site - In Territory?
Post by: Praeceps on September 10, 2015, 05:47:01 PM
According to King Rehoboam (Ki), "in territory" means "in your territory".
Title: Re: Fortify Site - In Territory?
Post by: Professoralstad on September 10, 2015, 06:10:53 PM
Anytime a location is referenced without specifying whose location it is, it always refers to "your" (the person who played the card) location. The most common example that is referenced is The Gates of Hell, which would be the most broken card ever if the word deck (with no specification of whose deck) could refer to any deck.
Title: Re: Fortify Site - In Territory?
Post by: TheJaylor on September 11, 2015, 06:29:57 PM
According to King Rehoboam (Ki), "in territory" means "in your territory".
He does say "Heroes in territory" but he's always been played as "in any territory." Have we been playing him wrong?
Title: Re: Fortify Site - In Territory?
Post by: Gabe on September 11, 2015, 07:20:24 PM
Thanks for the replies and clarification on Fortify Site, everyone. That clears up any confusion.

According to King Rehoboam (Ki), "in territory" means "in your territory".
He does say "Heroes in territory" but he's always been played as "in any territory." Have we been playing him wrong?

Probably. The ruling when I started playing Redemption is that Rehoboam (Ki) had to target characters in a singular territory. By the time he was reprinted in Disciples we intentionally changed it so that he could select characters from different territories.

Quote from: King Rehoboam from Kings
Select any two Heroes in territory to fight each other...

Quote from: King Rehoboam from Disciples
If blocking, select any two Heroes in territories to fight each other...
Title: Re: Fortify Site - In Territory?
Post by: Professoralstad on September 12, 2015, 08:13:10 PM
I noticed awhile ago that Rehoboam has to choose characters from your territory only. Since that's what many/most people who use him do anyway, it's not too big of a deal, though the flexibility of the Di version is nice.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal