Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: DDiceRC on February 08, 2012, 02:37:36 PM

Title: Forgotten History vs. AotL
Post by: DDiceRC on February 08, 2012, 02:37:36 PM
Forgotten History (Pi)

Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Pale Green • Ability: 0 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: Select up to four cards from one opponent’s discard pile and remove them from the game. The battle immediately ends. Cannot be negated • Play As: Search one opponent’s discard pile for up to four cards and remove them from the game. The battle immediately ends. Cannot be negated. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Psalms 106:13 • Availability: Priests booster packs (Common)

(Assume that the character SAs have no effect on the situation.) I block a RA with a PG EC who gains initiative, then play Forgotten History which creates a stalemate situation. My opponent responds with AotL on my EC. Does he win a LS, or does the fact that the battle ends "immediately" effectively send the characters back to their territories, which means my EC is discarded from there and no LS is gained? The word "immediately" suggests that the battle is over upon play, which means AotL would be too late to effect a rescue. (I did look in the REG glossary, but "immediately" is not defined there.)
Title: Re: Forgotten History vs. AotL
Post by: Jmbeers on February 08, 2012, 02:43:26 PM
No, the Sa of Forgotten History must play out entirely before your Op can do anything. If they would play AotL they can kill your EC but it would be considered to take place after the battle had ended. (essentially killing your EC in a territory)   

And any enhancement that ends the battle "immediately" is CBN
Title: Re: Forgotten History vs. AotL
Post by: Chronic Apathy on February 08, 2012, 02:45:05 PM
Forgotten History ends the battle, which means characters return to their territories before any other abilities can be carried out.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal