Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Gabe on June 11, 2009, 12:48:29 AM

Title: FOOF Discarder LS
Post by: Gabe on June 11, 2009, 12:48:29 AM
If the cost is payed on the "Discarder LS", forcing a player to discard a good card, can they choose to discard a face down Covenant in their Artifact pile since their Artifact pile is technically in their territory?

Lost Soul Psalms 119:150 (‘Discarder’)
Type: Lost Soul • Brigade: • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: When you draw this card, you may discard an evil card from your territory to make an opponent discard a good card from hand or territory. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Psalms 119:150
Title: Re: FOOF Discarder LS
Post by: RedemptionAggie on June 11, 2009, 02:14:40 AM
Based on the way the other argument about face down cards is going, I don't think you can target a face down covenant as a "good" card.
Title: Re: FOOF Discarder LS
Post by: BubbleBoy on June 11, 2009, 06:34:31 AM
I don't think you can target face down cards period. They aren't considered "in play," right? At least that's what I have gathered.

BTW, while we're on this general topic, was it ruled that ANB could or could not shuffle artifact piles?
Title: Re: FOOF Discarder LS
Post by: sk on June 11, 2009, 06:41:56 AM
Is the face down card being targeted, or the player?  If the player is being targeted, I think it'd work.
Title: Re: FOOF Discarder LS
Post by: Gabe on June 11, 2009, 08:26:04 AM
Based on the way the other argument about face down cards is going, I don't think you can target a face down covenant as a "good" card.

Sorry, I stopped reading that thread after the second page so I just went back and re-read it.  Thanks for pointing me back there, Aggie.  According to Schaef's position (although he did say to get a second opinion) it seems like you can discard a Covenant that's face down in your Artifact Pile.

ANB target all cards in the "Field of Play".  Field of Play is a location, and face-down cards still reside in a location.  The default state of "in play" is more like a condition, the same way "in battle" is a status for the cards engaged in the current battle only, while "Field of Battle" targets all cards in that location.

Since the Artifact Pile is a location that resides in your territory, and a Covenant or Curse keeps it's allignment in the Artifact Pile I would think that discarding a face down Covenant to satisfy the "FOOF Discarder LS" would be a legal play.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal