Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Mr.Hiatus on December 12, 2010, 12:48:32 AM

Title: Fishing Boat
Post by: Mr.Hiatus on December 12, 2010, 12:48:32 AM
The only part that I'm concerned with: Each upkeep phase a hero may be placed here.
I would consider this to mean each upkeep phase only one hero may be placed, not as many as you want. Since after all, it does say a hero.
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: SomeKittens on December 12, 2010, 12:59:01 AM
Type: Fortress • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Set this aside. Each upkeep, you may place a Hero from here beneath your deck to draw X or to give your disciples access to all Sites this turn. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Luke 5:4 • Availability: Disciples booster packs ()

Why would you want to place multiple heroes beneath deck?
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on December 12, 2010, 01:12:12 AM
Type: Fortress • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Set this aside. Each upkeep, you may place a Hero from here beneath your deck to draw X or to give your disciples access to all Sites this turn. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Luke 5:4 • Availability: Disciples booster packs ()

Why would you want to place multiple heroes beneath deck?

He's not talking about the deck part but the part of actually putting them in the fortress. It doesn't say a limit so it is any amount.
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: SomeKittens on December 12, 2010, 01:15:38 AM
The section he refers to is about putting a hero beneath deck.   He's absolutely correct, I can't put multiple heroes beneath deck to draw an extravagant amount of cards.
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on December 12, 2010, 01:17:22 AM
The section he refers to is about putting a hero beneath deck.   He's absolutely correct, I can't put multiple heroes beneath deck to draw an extravagant amount of cards.

I don't even see the word deck in his post. But yes you can only do special drawing once per turn.
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: RTSmaniac on December 12, 2010, 07:39:12 AM
Mr. Hiatus feels that the wording on the card should only allow one hero to be placed in the boat per upkeep.

Type: Fortress • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Set this aside. Each upkeep, you may place a Hero from here beneath your deck to draw X or to give your disciples access to all Sites this turn. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Luke 5:4 • Availability: Disciples booster packs ()

3 liner is correct.
It doesn't say a limit so it is any amount.

Also Tyler, please be a witness in telling Eric that you cannot place multiple hero's beneath deck for special drawing.
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: Professoralstad on December 12, 2010, 09:04:14 AM
You can't place any Heroes in the boat during upkeep. However, you can place or remove as many as you want from the boat during your Preparation phase. You may only place one from the boat onto the bottom of your deck per upkeep to draw once.
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: Gabe on December 12, 2010, 10:21:50 AM
You can't place any Heroes in the boat during upkeep. However, you can place or remove as many as you want from the boat during your Preparation phase. You may only place one from the boat onto the bottom of your deck per upkeep to draw once.
+1
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: TheJaylor on December 12, 2010, 11:07:23 AM
Type: Fortress • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Set this aside. Each upkeep, you may place a Hero from here beneath your deck to draw X or to give your disciples access to all Sites this turn. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Luke 5:4 • Availability: Disciples booster packs ()

Why would you want to place multiple heroes beneath deck?
what does X = ?
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on December 12, 2010, 11:15:55 AM
# of disciples in boat
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: RTSmaniac on December 12, 2010, 11:54:30 PM
why only one during upkeep?
Type: Fortress • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Set this aside. Each upkeep, you may place a Hero  from here beneath your deck to draw X or to give your disciples access to all Sites this turn. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Luke 5:4 • Availability: Disciples booster packs ()

because of this?
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: SomeKittens on December 12, 2010, 11:55:26 PM
Yeah, so I can't have six in boat, one beneath deck to draw five, another to draw four, another to draw three, etc.
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: RTSmaniac on December 13, 2010, 12:03:25 AM
I think briangabe argued for this interpetation early on and a playtester i spoke to still thinks it works this way- just wondering why it doesnt...


Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: Professoralstad on December 13, 2010, 12:29:58 AM
"Each upkeep, you may place
why only one during upkeep?
Type: Fortress • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Set this aside. Each upkeep, you may place a Hero  from here beneath your deck to draw X or to give your disciples access to all Sites this turn. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Luke 5:4 • Availability: Disciples booster packs ()

because of this?

Precisely. Each upkeep you can place a (one) hero beneath deck.
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: RTSmaniac on December 13, 2010, 12:36:37 AM
does that mean i can do it on my opponents upkeep as well?
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: Professoralstad on December 13, 2010, 12:51:07 AM
does that mean i can do it on my opponents upkeep as well?

No. Anytime your card says "Each upkeep" (Judge's Seat, The Lord Fights for You, etc.) it is referring to your upkeep, and no one else's.
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: SomeKittens on December 13, 2010, 12:56:13 AM
Aw, blast.  That would have been great.
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: Gabe on December 13, 2010, 09:27:07 AM
I think briangabe argued for this interpetation early on and a playtester i spoke to still thinks it works this way- just wondering why it doesnt...

I don't recall arguing for any specific interpretation but I did ask and found that I was playing the boat wrong in relation to the number of disciples.  I thought that if I had 3 disciples and put one under my deck I would draw 3, but I should only draw 2.  I even playtested that part wrong. :doh:

Some of my opponent's have thought that they could use the boat multiple times so I may have posted that question solely to have a point of reference if they didn't believe me that it's a once per upkeep ability.  I playtested that part correctly.  :)
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: CountFount on December 13, 2010, 11:47:23 AM
In our local 'REG' in Kansas City, We errata d the card Leviathan to be able to Eat all disciples on any boat. Rip Boat.  ;D
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: SomeKittens on December 13, 2010, 12:12:20 PM
See, my players keep trying to do that.  They've come up with at least a dozen new cards to kill boat.  (and half them didn't even work due to Boat being in set-aside)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal