Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: RTSmaniac on September 20, 2010, 08:30:40 PM

Title: Fishing Boat
Post by: RTSmaniac on September 20, 2010, 08:30:40 PM
Fishing Boat (Di)
Type: Fortress • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Set this aside. Each upkeep, you may place a Hero from here beneath your deck to draw X or to give your disciples access to all Sites this turn. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Luke 5:4 • Availability: Disciples booster packs ()

Can I use this ability multiple times during upkeep phase or just once?
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: Michael_of_the_Star on September 20, 2010, 08:49:37 PM
Only once in each upkeep phase. Thanks.
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: RTSmaniac on September 20, 2010, 08:50:25 PM
anybody disagree?
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on September 20, 2010, 08:55:05 PM
I'm sure each upkeep refers to 'each time you have your upkeep'.... but can it PLEASE work on your opponent's upkeep? ;D
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: Michael_of_the_Star on September 20, 2010, 09:04:22 PM
Nope, because fishing boat is your card, therefore it activate on your upkeep only, because when the effect is "on your upkeep phase", is too long therefore we just put each upkeep. Thank you.

ML.
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on September 20, 2010, 09:09:17 PM
I don't think you're right. Forts are always active. The upkeep just specifies when you're allowed to do what it says. I'm pretty sure the reason it doesn't work (which I admitted, if you read my post) is because the card makers aren't good at wording things so instead of doing the correct thing erratta'ing it they create confusing rules that make no sense.

Love,
Salsa.
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: Bryon on September 20, 2010, 10:22:02 PM
On any set aside card, "Each upkeep" only means "once during each of your upkeep phases."
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: RTSmaniac on September 20, 2010, 11:31:13 PM
my question refers to how many heros can you place under your deck during your one upkeep phase.

say i have 3 disciples in boat, during upkeep i place 1 under and draw 2 cards...can i now place another under and draw 1 card?
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: Michael_of_the_Star on September 20, 2010, 11:39:05 PM
Fishing Boat (Di)
Type: Fortress • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Set this aside. Each upkeep, you may place a Hero from here beneath your deck to draw X or to give your disciples access to all Sites this turn. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Luke 5:4 • Availability: Disciples booster packs ()

Can I use this ability multiple times during upkeep phase or just once?

Just like what the card said "a" means one. Thank you.

ML
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: Bryon on September 22, 2010, 10:10:07 AM
On any set aside card, "Each upkeep" only means "once during each of your upkeep phases."
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: RTSmaniac on September 22, 2010, 11:22:22 AM
reason that i ask is that ive seen alot of disciple decks and alot of people playing differently meaning putting like 6 heros in boat, placing 1 under and drawing 5, then placing another under and drawing 4 during same upkeep.
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: Cpt.Jaeger on September 22, 2010, 11:44:58 AM
reason that i ask is that ive seen alot of disciple decks and alot of people playing differently meaning putting like 6 heros in boat, placing 1 under and drawing 5, then placing another under and drawing 4 during same upkeep.

yeah, i don't think that's allowed....

edit- once at least 10 disciples out you'd be able to go through your whole deck :P
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: Bryon on September 22, 2010, 01:21:17 PM
There are a lot of cards in Redemption that say "Each upkeep, ..." and they are all treated the same way:  Once during your each of your upkeep phases.

If you see someone doing it wrong, please correct them.  :)
Title: Re: Fishing Boat
Post by: Michael_of_the_Star on September 23, 2010, 03:05:05 AM
That would clear a lot of misunderstanding that people have.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal