Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: SEB on April 28, 2018, 11:19:50 PM

Title: Fire of Abaddon
Post by: SEB on April 28, 2018, 11:19:50 PM
The first clause just says "Underdeck an opponent's card" this can be from any zone, correct?
Title: Re: Fire of Abaddon
Post by: SEB on April 28, 2018, 11:21:17 PM
Expected syntax would be any legal card that is an opponents . . . artifact, hand, territory
Title: Re: Fire of Abaddon
Post by: RedemptionAggie on April 28, 2018, 11:22:13 PM
If an ability doesn't specify where the target comes from, it usually needs to be in play. Check the targeting section of the REG for a list.
Title: Re: Fire of Abaddon
Post by: SEB on April 28, 2018, 11:26:53 PM
Why do we have so many "assumed" things like duration from the BP or zones like Fire. It's pretty rough for new players
Title: Re: Fire of Abaddon
Post by: Kevinthedude on April 29, 2018, 12:27:56 AM
Why do we have so many "assumed" things like duration from the BP or zones like Fire. It's pretty rough for new players

You can't write the entire ruleset of a card game on the cards; the line always has to be drawn somewhere. Recent cards have used pretty much all the text space so there isn't really much room to add clarifying text to abilities like that. Some rules you just have to remember.
Title: Re: Fire of Abaddon
Post by: SEB on April 29, 2018, 06:57:18 AM
Why do we have so many "assumed" things like duration from the BP or zones like Fire. It's pretty rough for new players

You can't write the entire ruleset of a card game on the cards; the line always has to be drawn somewhere. Recent cards have used pretty much all the text space so there isn't really much room to add clarifying text to abilities like that. Some rules you just have to remember.

Rules wouldnt need a re-write. Just tag on the zone. "from play."
Title: Re: Fire of Abaddon
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on April 29, 2018, 08:22:20 AM
There isn't room to add "in play" to all cards that need, so to avoid confusion you just need to know the rule instead of some cards saying in play and some not saying it
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal