Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: adamfincher on October 09, 2010, 10:17:04 AM

Title: FBN soul VS Hopper
Post by: adamfincher on October 09, 2010, 10:17:04 AM
So lets say on my turn i draw hopper and put it in my opponents land of bondage. Then on my next turn i draw the FBN soul. Would hopper stay, or go to my territory?

Luke 19_10 (Di)
Type: Lost Soul • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Beginning in the phase after this card is put in play, negate all special abilities on Lost Soul cards (except this one). • Identifiers: None • Verse: Luke 19:10 • Availability: Disciples booster packs ()
See also:
•      Negate

II Chronicles 28_13 (Ki)
Type: Lost Soul • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: When drawn, place this Lost Soul in one opponent's Land of Bondage. Does not count toward Lost Soul deck building requirements. • Errata: (Treat the last sentence of the special ability as an identifier.) • Identifiers: None • Verse: II Chronicles 28:13 • Availability: Kings booster packs (Rare)
See also:
•      Place

Thanks!
Title: Re: FBN soul VS Hopper
Post by: DDiceRC on October 09, 2010, 10:25:29 AM
I would think the "place" ability in this case is an instant ability, so it couldn't be negated after the phase in which it is played, certainly not in a turn after it is played.
Title: Re: FBN soul VS Hopper
Post by: Michael_of_the_Star on October 09, 2010, 01:34:51 PM
Once a lost soul's effect is activated, it won't be undone, just like revealer, if you first draw revealer, revealed two cards of opponent's deck and put them beneath, then next turn, you draw Fight by the number lost soul, the revealed cards doesn't go on top of opponent's deck. So I would think for hopper is the same.

If I am wrong about this, would a tourney host or elder want to correct me ? Thanks.

ML.
Title: Re: FBN soul VS Hopper
Post by: browarod on October 09, 2010, 09:05:02 PM
The above are correct about if the FBTN LS is drawn in a later phase/turn, however I'm wondering what would happen if the FBTN is drawn after the hopper/revealer but in the same phase.
Title: Re: FBN soul VS Hopper
Post by: Ryupeco11 on October 09, 2010, 09:08:04 PM
if it is the same phase it should negate their abilities but INE
Title: Re: FBN soul VS Hopper
Post by: Ryupeco11 on October 09, 2010, 09:38:28 PM
nevermind my last post i just realized the FBTN lost soul says "Beginning in the phase after this card is put in play" so i don't believe it would negate hopper or revealer if draw right after them.
Title: Re: FBN soul VS Hopper
Post by: browarod on October 09, 2010, 10:13:08 PM
nevermind my last post i just realized the FBTN lost soul says "Beginning in the phase after this card is put in play" so i don't believe it would negate hopper or revealer if draw right after them.
They probably included that part specifically for situations like these :P.
Title: Re: FBN soul VS Hopper
Post by: Michael_of_the_Star on October 10, 2010, 01:08:15 AM
nevermind my last post i just realized the FBTN lost soul says "Beginning in the phase after this card is put in play" so i don't believe it would negate hopper or revealer if draw right after them.
They probably included that part specifically for situations like these :P.

That is correct, something like that happened when we playtested. thanks.

ML
Title: Re: FBN soul VS Hopper
Post by: adamfincher on October 10, 2010, 02:11:19 PM
Alrightieo thanks guys :)
Title: Re: FBN soul VS Hopper
Post by: SirNobody on October 11, 2010, 01:59:54 PM
Hey,

Once a lost soul's effect is activated, it won't be undone, just like revealer, if you first draw revealer, revealed two cards of opponent's deck and put them beneath, then next turn, you draw Fight by the number lost soul, the revealed cards doesn't go on top of opponent's deck. So I would think for hopper is the same.

If I am wrong about this, would a tourney host or elder want to correct me ? Thanks.

Lost Souls with instant abilities that are completed before the FBTN soul kicks in are not undone by the FBTN soul.  (Which is the case with the hopper in the original example.)  Lost Souls with ongoing abilities (like the Female Only or "Negate Draw Abilities" souls) would cease to be in effect when the FBTN soul kicks in.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal