Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: spacy32 on June 10, 2017, 11:39:32 PM

Title: Falling Away
Post by: spacy32 on June 10, 2017, 11:39:32 PM
So I need some clarity on a matter. I play Falling Away (CoW) and convert their hero to an evil character until the end of turn. At the end of turn, does it count a converting when it changes back??????
Title: Re: Falling Away
Post by: megamanlan on June 11, 2017, 12:10:29 AM
I would say no.
Title: Re: Falling Away
Post by: spacy32 on June 11, 2017, 12:13:27 AM
I would say no.


I would say why????
Title: Re: Falling Away
Post by: RedemptionAggie on June 11, 2017, 12:17:32 AM
For the same reason a timed decrease/capture isn't an increase/release - it's the ending of a duration for an ability, not a new ability.
Title: Re: Falling Away
Post by: spacy32 on June 11, 2017, 12:18:18 AM
As per the R.E.G. definition or convert ability

A convert ability changes one or more characteristics of a card. This may include alignment, card type, or brigade.

When it changes back doesn't that count as converting?????
Title: Re: Falling Away
Post by: spacy32 on June 11, 2017, 12:34:46 AM
For the same reason a timed decrease/capture isn't an increase/release - it's the ending of a duration for an ability, not a new ability.

You are comparing apples to oranges here...

A change to increase and decrease is like to being sick and getting better. We are talking about falling away and repenting here. It is not as easy as "oh I'm not evil anymore because you didn't make me evil"
Title: Re: Falling Away
Post by: RedemptionAggie on June 11, 2017, 12:59:07 AM
You're talking theology, I'm talking gameplay.  If a timed conversion is 2 conversions, people are going to ask why a timed increase/decrease isn't one of each.  Capture/Release may not apply - Jealous Rage is actually both, and I can't find any other examples.

As a temporary conversion, Falling Away also seems more like a temporary possession, Peter denying Jesus 3 times, a lapse in judgement, etc.  Which is a mix of gameplay/theology.

Mostly, I just think adding extra parts to abilities just complicates rules and will break something.  If it converts twice, does Altar of Dagon/The god of this world protect the EC from the second conversion, leaving the Hero permanently an EC?
Title: Re: Falling Away
Post by: kariusvega on June 11, 2017, 01:47:50 AM
It's a great question. Would Altar/GotW stop them from being able to become heroes again?
Title: Re: Falling Away
Post by: TheHobbit13 on June 11, 2017, 03:07:59 AM
Falling Away converts for a duration, not convert back, just like the card says. When the duration is up character is not converted anymore. It is not changing the alignment of the card directly just undoing the change, thus the reg quote is n/a
Title: Re: Falling Away
Post by: Gabe on June 11, 2017, 08:13:44 AM
Quote from: REG>Convert>Default Conditions
Convert abilities are permanent unless a duration is specified.

The quoted line is in the REG to address cards like Evil Spirit (which has been a temporary convert for over a decade) and Falling Away (CoW). When the duration is reached the convert simply stops and the card reverts back to it's previous state.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal