Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: RTSmaniac on April 17, 2011, 08:49:39 PM

Title: Evil Doms and Lampstand
Post by: RTSmaniac on April 17, 2011, 08:49:39 PM
Can I play evil doms while Lampy is up?
Title: Re: Evil Doms and Lampstand
Post by: Irish_Luck on April 17, 2011, 08:54:06 PM
I'm pretty sure you can still play them but it will have the same effect as using falling away against a guardian.
Title: Re: Evil Doms and Lampstand
Post by: Professoralstad on April 17, 2011, 08:56:42 PM
Yes. You just can't target anything with them. The only time you can't play doms is during the resolution of a different ability. You can play Evil Doms with Lampstand up, Grapes outside of battle, NJ without SoG, Harvest Time with LS's in your opponent's territory/Nazzy up, etc. People do such things all the time for purposes of Mayhem/Zebulun.
Title: Re: Evil Doms and Lampstand
Post by: Mr.Hiatus on April 17, 2011, 09:41:18 PM
You can target, it is just protected correct? Same result though.
Title: Re: Evil Doms and Lampstand
Post by: Gabe on April 17, 2011, 09:49:40 PM
You can target, it is just protected correct? Same result though.

You cannot choose a protected card as a target for an ability that it is protected from.
Title: Re: Evil Doms and Lampstand
Post by: Mr.Hiatus on April 17, 2011, 11:40:14 PM
Why not? It is just protected. Means you should be able to target, just not harm it. Unless the definition of protect in this game is can not be targeted. If that's the case then agree.
Title: Re: Evil Doms and Lampstand
Post by: Professoralstad on April 17, 2011, 11:51:27 PM
Why not? It is just protected. Means you should be able to target, just not harm it. Unless the definition of protect in this game is can not be targeted. If that's the case then agree.
That is in fact the case. So if you play a card that says "Discard a Hero" and the only two heroes in play are your opponent's protected Hero and your unprotected Hero, you have to discard your own. You can't say you are targeting your opponent's Hero and just let the ability fizzle.
Title: Re: Evil Doms and Lampstand
Post by: RTSmaniac on April 18, 2011, 12:04:11 AM
Quote
You cannot choose a protected card as a target for an ability that it is protected from.
so how can u play falling away if both players have GoYS or Destruction if Lampy is out?
Title: Re: Evil Doms and Lampstand
Post by: The Guardian on April 18, 2011, 12:15:33 AM
Protect stops you from targeting the protected cards, it doesn't prevent (or restrict) you from playing a card.
Title: Re: Evil Doms and Lampstand
Post by: RTSmaniac on April 18, 2011, 12:20:13 AM
like Alter of Ahaz or Wasting Disease
Title: Re: Evil Doms and Lampstand
Post by: Professoralstad on April 18, 2011, 11:37:48 AM
like Alter of Ahaz or Wasting Disease

Neither of those stop you from playing cards either. Only restrict abilities (like Darius Decree) can do that. Protect doesn't stop cards from being played only restrict can do that. Protect just stops certain cards from being targeted.
Title: Re: Evil Doms and Lampstand
Post by: RTSmaniac on April 18, 2011, 05:04:33 PM
Altar of Ahaz (Pi)
Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect all Lost Souls from rescue by Dominants. Discard this card if a human Hero rescues a Lost Soul from your territory. • Identifiers: OT, Depicts an Evil Altar, False Religious Practice • Verse: II Kings 16:11 • Availability: Priests booster packs (Ultra Rare)

Wasting Disease (Pi)
Type: Curse • Brigade: Brown • Ability: 0 / 6 • Class: None • Special Ability: Prevent all good abilities that allow a player to play an Enhancement. • Play As: Prevent all good abilities that allow a player to play an Enhancement. [Although classified as a disease, this card does not disease any targeted characters.] • Identifiers: OT, Disease • Verse: Deuteronomy 28:22 • Availability: Priests booster packs (Uncommon)

I didnt read the cards. Thought Alter of Ahaz restricted SoG from being played. Wasting Disease on the other hand seems like it is stopping my opponent from playing cards. Its all good.
Title: Re: Evil Doms and Lampstand
Post by: Professoralstad on April 18, 2011, 06:02:58 PM
Nope. It's not stopping your opponent from playing anything, it's just negating play abilities. It doesn't restrict you from playing enhancements on ET pre-block (like DD does) it just prevents ET's ability to play. See the difference?
Title: Re: Evil Doms and Lampstand
Post by: The Guardian on April 18, 2011, 07:20:35 PM
For example, if somehow you could make ET's special ability CBN, it would work versus Wasting Diseases. It would not work against Darius' Decree however.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal