Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: jbeers285 on April 10, 2013, 12:45:07 AM
-
i was thinking about adding cheribum to my deck to look at opp hand and place their doms on the top of thier deck however if i used cheribum to go to aaron and then moses i would then negate the look and place.
this would also kick aaron out of battle but not moses?
knowing that i had every intention of negating cheribum is it unethical for me to look at my opponents hand?
also is this against any redemption rules of thumb for instance the no lying rule?
-
I would say that look would be inherently CBI, (unless you are the mind erase thing from MIB), so there's no ethical thing about it.
-
You cant undo the look. This is actually a very ethical play.
-
I'm sure Drrek meant either that is was not unethical, or that ethics had nothing to do with it. ;)
In either case, I agree. Look and reveal are inherently CBI.
-
I'm sure Drrek meant either that is was not unethical, or that ethics had nothing to do with it. ;)
In either case, I agree. Look and reveal are inherently CBI.
As someone who often plays with Mild Bill, I can tell you that's not completely accurate...;)
But, yeah, there is nothing wrong with that play. It's a similar principle to attacking with Gabriel and searching even though your opponent announces his intention to block with KoT. You still get to search.
So your opponent would get his doms back, and you are correct that the end result would be Cherubim and Moses in a FBTN battle.
-
I would say that look would be inherently CBI
So if my opponent plays a card to look at my hand, can I not negate it before he looks?
-
I would say that look would be inherently CBI
So if my opponent plays a card to look at my hand, can I not negate it before he looks?
No, any ability must complete before you can negate it. So in this case, by the time it completes (they look), there is really nothing you can do with a negate.
-
Another thing to consider is that looking at your opponent's hand might change what you decide to do in terms of banding so it's definitely not unethical to use the look ability when you plan to negate it.
-
I would say that look would be inherently CBI
So if my opponent plays a card to look at my hand, can I not negate it before he looks?
You can negate a "look" or "reveal" if the negate card is played before the look/reveal card. This is functionally a prevent. Drrek's comment was that it cannot be interrupted, thus you cannot negate the reveal/look ability after it has been played.