Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Lamborghini_diablo on October 31, 2010, 11:55:19 PM

Title: Escape to Egypt vs Banding
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on October 31, 2010, 11:55:19 PM
Okay, here is the scenario, I have no clue how this would end up resolving:

1) I make a Rescue Attempt with Eli the Priest.
2) My opponent blocks with Herod Agrippa 2
3) I play Furnace of God's Wrath to discard Herod Agrippa 2.
4) My opponent plays Swift Horses, followed by Escape to Egypt.
5) I play Deborah's Directive to interrupt the withdraw and band in Ibzan.

My questions:

(A) can Escape to Egypt retarget to include Ibzan?
(B) If the answer to A is no, then does furnace of God's Wrath re-activate on Ibzan, discarding Herod Agrippa 2?
Title: Re: Escape to Egypt vs Banding
Post by: The Guardian on November 01, 2010, 12:42:44 AM
I'm not positive on A. I'm fairly certain B is yes.
Title: Re: Escape to Egypt vs Banding
Post by: browarod on November 01, 2010, 01:14:06 AM
As far as I know, enhancement/character abilities only target the first time they are activated. Interrupting and changing the pool of targets either makes them carry out how they were already targeted (if one or more chosen targets are still targetable) or fizzle (if the chosen targets are gone or have protection from what's targeting them). The only exceptions are cards that target every/all of something as I think those do update to include new "targets".
Title: Re: Escape to Egypt vs Banding
Post by: christiangamer25 on November 01, 2010, 07:54:38 AM
yeah and id argue i only had one target available im supposed to target 2 if he adds the second target thru an interrupt i should be aloud to now do what my card says which is 2 targets
Title: Re: Escape to Egypt vs Banding
Post by: Professoralstad on November 01, 2010, 09:25:08 AM
Cards cannot change targets after they are played. If someone uses a card that says "discard a Hero" and you interrupt it and protect that Hero from discard, your opponent cannot now choose a different Hero to discard. Same thing applies here. So only Eli is withdrawn, and Furnace is allowed to activate on Ibzan, discarding HAII.
Title: Re: Escape to Egypt vs Banding
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on November 01, 2010, 09:51:34 AM
I was gonna say what prof said. You can't change the target once played. so if something else isn't targeted into battle it can't be picked after it's interrupted
Title: Re: Escape to Egypt vs Banding
Post by: christiangamer25 on November 01, 2010, 10:39:54 AM
lovely so basically foiled again really beginning to hate this game post di
Title: Re: Escape to Egypt vs Banding
Post by: Professoralstad on November 01, 2010, 12:14:55 PM
lovely so basically foiled again really beginning to hate this game post di

The rule that you can't change targets has been around much longer than Disciples. And I doubt this situation will come up very often anyway.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal