Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: sepjazzwarrior on June 16, 2017, 12:14:27 PM

Title: elymas the sorcerer
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on June 16, 2017, 12:14:27 PM
this guy is protected from conversion and discard abilities.  would Death of unrighteous work if played on him?  Does this fall under "you cant be protected from yourself"?
Title: Re: elymas the sorcerer
Post by: TheHobbit13 on June 16, 2017, 12:45:26 PM
"can't be protected from yourself" means literally what it says and in older days you couldn't be immune to yourself either. But you can always harm yourself. So yeah dou works, not a do X to do Y ability.
Title: Re: elymas the sorcerer
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on June 16, 2017, 12:47:07 PM
so just to be clear, would elymas be discarded?
Title: Re: elymas the sorcerer
Post by: The Guardian on June 16, 2017, 12:48:11 PM
No, Elymas would not be discarded.

However, DoU is not a cost-benefit ability so the Lost Souls would still be shuffled.
Title: Re: elymas the sorcerer
Post by: Josh on June 16, 2017, 12:53:57 PM
No, Elymas would not be discarded.

Why wouldn't Elymas discard himself with DoU?  He can't protect himself from EEs he uses, right?

What about the Pale Green Seal or Bowl that discards all cards in battle?  Would a lone Elymas discard himself if he played it or not?
Title: Re: elymas the sorcerer
Post by: The Guardian on June 16, 2017, 12:56:28 PM
I thought the rule was a character could not be protected from their own ability unless I'm remembering wrong.
Title: Re: elymas the sorcerer
Post by: Josh on June 16, 2017, 12:59:53 PM
REG says:

"Characters cannot be immune to or protected from themselves."

Seems to include enhancements played by characters that target themselves as well.
Title: Re: elymas the sorcerer
Post by: The Guardian on June 16, 2017, 01:00:56 PM
Quote
Default Conditions
● Immune and protect abilities last until the end of the phase in which they are used.
● Characters cannot be immune to or protected from themselves.

That's the relevant REG entry under "Immune/Protect."

I've always interpreted that to mean the character's ability (i.e. Thaddeus does not protect Red Dragon from his own immunity/protection targeting himself). However, I can see the other interpretation being valid as well.
Title: Re: elymas the sorcerer
Post by: Josh on June 16, 2017, 01:05:08 PM
I see this situation as parallel to Creeping Deceiver not able to negate his own ability via Midianite Attack.  His ability says "characters", but enhancements are always played by characters, so essentially his ability cannot be negated by enhancements either.
Title: Re: elymas the sorcerer
Post by: Kevinthedude on June 16, 2017, 01:07:07 PM
I thought the rule was a character could not be protected from their own ability unless I'm remembering wrong.

I'm pretty sure you're right about it only not being protected from an ability on the card itself but I believe it's all cards can't be protected from their own ability not just characters.
Title: Re: elymas the sorcerer
Post by: Gabe on June 16, 2017, 01:31:49 PM
IIRC the "can't be protected from yourself" ruling was based on a green warrior (converted Ittai?) holding a weapon that protected him from Philistines and playing ANB to rescue a LS. If that's correct, the intent behind the ruling as well as the way we've ruled Enhancements in relation to Thad and Creeper lead me to believe that Elymas will still be discarded by DoU (despite the fact I never realized it and didn't play it that way the 2-3 times it's come up for me).
Title: Re: elymas the sorcerer
Post by: The Guardian on June 16, 2017, 01:47:25 PM
So if you want to pull off that combo, you just band Apostles Messenger of Satan or Judean Mediums to Elymas, and play the DoU on them.  8)
Title: Re: elymas the sorcerer
Post by: TheHobbit13 on June 16, 2017, 02:24:47 PM
Makes rule, rule does more than intended... but its cool! lol?  :doh:
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal