Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: JDS on August 09, 2009, 01:01:50 PM

Title: ELEPHANTS!
Post by: JDS on August 09, 2009, 01:01:50 PM
If Mayhem ("Each player must shuffle hand into deck to draw six.") is the only card in my hand when I play it, do I still get to draw six based on the "as much as possible" ruling?
Title: Re: ELEPHANTS!
Post by: happyjosiah on August 09, 2009, 01:18:38 PM
I believe so, yes.
Title: Re: ELEPHANTS!
Post by: adamfincher on August 09, 2009, 01:21:27 PM
answer: yes
Title: Re: ELEPHANTS!
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on August 09, 2009, 05:56:13 PM
When you shuffle your 0 cards in hand back into deck, you fulfill the ability.
Title: Re: ELEPHANTS!
Post by: LukeSnyder on August 09, 2009, 07:18:19 PM
Actually, I'm going to go out on a limb and say that you can't draw, considering how Jephthah works. You can't shuffle 0 cards into your deck much like you can't discard nothing off the top your deck when you're decked out. If you can't pay the cost, you can't reap the benefits.
Title: Re: ELEPHANTS!
Post by: Arch Angel on August 09, 2009, 07:28:27 PM
I disagree. Mayhem doesn't say "Shuffle 5 cards into your deck to draw 5 new ones" or anything like that. It just says to shuffle your 'hand.' If your hand is at 0 cards, then by shuffling 0 cards into your deck you meet the requirement.
Title: Re: ELEPHANTS!
Post by: LukeSnyder on August 09, 2009, 07:40:21 PM
I believe that if you have 0 cards in your hand, you have no hand.
Title: Re: ELEPHANTS!
Post by: crustpope on August 09, 2009, 08:07:05 PM
I believe that if you have 0 cards in your hand, you have no hand.

Guys, this was decided when they gave the sinning hand rule.  You can discard half yoru hand if it is 0  0 cards is half of 0 and you can fulfill the requirement to negate sinning hand.  SO if you can have a hand of 0 cards and d/c 0 of them to negate sinning hand, then you can shirly shuffle a 0 card hand into your deck to draw 6 cards with Mayhem...and this is exactly what I intend to do...
Title: Re: ELEPHANTS!
Post by: LukeSnyder on August 09, 2009, 08:10:41 PM
I believe that if you have 0 cards in your hand, you have no hand.

Guys, this was decided when they gave the sinning hand rule.  You can discard half yoru hand if it is 0  0 cards is half of 0 and you can fulfill the requirement to negate sinning hand.  SO if you can have a hand of 0 cards and d/c 0 of them to negate sinning hand, then you can shirly shuffle a 0 card hand into your deck to draw 6 cards with Mayhem...and this is exactly what I intend to do...

Really? I've never heard about that. Do you have a link or something?
Title: Re: ELEPHANTS!
Post by: Bryon on August 09, 2009, 08:14:39 PM
You can have a deck of zero cards.  However, your deck no longer has a top card, so Jephthah doesn't work.  Get the difference?
Title: Re: ELEPHANTS!
Post by: LukeSnyder on August 09, 2009, 08:15:32 PM
You can have a deck of zero cards.  However, your deck no longer has a top card, so Jephthah doesn't work.  Get the difference?

Gotcha, I completely understand now. Thank you for the concise clarification.
Title: Re: ELEPHANTS!
Post by: crustpope on August 09, 2009, 08:24:29 PM
Yeah, Here is the thread. (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=15407.0)
Title: Re: ELEPHANTS!
Post by: LukeSnyder on August 09, 2009, 08:41:42 PM
Yeah, Here is the thread. (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=15407.0)


Thank you, that was a good read. I missed that thread during my hiatus from redemption over the past year while I was in Florida.
Title: Re: ELEPHANTS!
Post by: Captain Falcon on August 10, 2009, 11:23:34 AM
Yeah; i don't c y not. 
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal