Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Josh on May 15, 2016, 12:03:55 PM
-
If Foreign Wives only checks opponent's cards drawn when she enters battle, then does Dutiful Priest only check to see if he is blocked when he enters battle? Both use the word "If" instead of the word "When".
Dutiful Priest - "If blocked, you may an offering enhancement or discard an animal. If you do, draw 2."
Foreign Wives - "Search discard pile for Household Idols. If opponent has drawn 5 or more cards this turn, protect Foreign Wives from cards used by opponent. Cannot be negated."
-
If Foreign Wives only checks opponent's cards drawn when she enters battle, then does Dutiful Priest only check to see if he is blocked when he enters battle? Both use the word "If" instead of the word "When".
Dutiful Priest - "If blocked, you may an offering enhancement or discard an animal. If you do, draw 2."
Foreign Wives - "Search discard pile for Household Idols. If opponent has drawn 5 or more cards this turn, protect Foreign Wives from cards used by opponent. Cannot be negated."
I think FW wouldn't be protected because you are being blocked before you use the ability. Therefore, FW activates Before you draw 2.
-
I think FW wouldn't be protected because you are being blocked before you use the ability. Therefore, FW activates Before you draw 2.
I'm not asking what happens if FW blocks DP - I'm asking if Dutiful Priest's "If" at the beginning of his ability works the same as FW's "If" at the beginning of hers. In other words, does DP only work if an EC is already in battle?
-
you be correct based on English
-
In other words, does DP only work if an EC is already in battle?
If (haha) that were the case then DP wouldn't work at all since the act of blocking is an EC entering battle against a Hero which cannot happen at the same time DP enters battle (with the possible exception of the couple of mass banding enhancements).
INE, but to me FW seems like a one-time check of a condition, when her ability activates if the opponent has drawn (past tense) 5 or more then she becomes protected. DP seems like a one-time setup of a trigger. If that trigger is met (DP is blocked (future action so future tense)) then the resulting ability carries out. The "if" clauses are different because of what follows the "if."
:2cents:
-
Actually, based on English it could go either way. "If blocked" can be read "if this character had ever been, is currently or becomes blocked" or "if this character is currently blocked" just as easily with no problems with English grammar and word usage. Furthermore, "if...has done" is an entirely different grammatical structure than a simple "if...is;" the former is a past imperfect (or perfect depending on interpretation), while the latter could be past, present, future, referring to a state of the subject, referring to the state of the object, or any number of different valid interpretations.
-
So I think Pol agrees with what I was trying to say: DP being worded as a current/future check and FW being worded as a past check. Not entirely sure, haha.
-
FW is definitely a past check, and DP could go either way based on the wording but is clearly intended to be a dynamic check (NO CONTRADICTION HERE THE GRAMMAR IS DIFFERENT THAN ON FW) or at least a future check.
-
Great. So we have consensus that jives with Redemption AND English grammar. Hooray!
-
Confirming that Dutiful Priest is a trigger on a future event, and Foreign Wives is a one-time check upon activation.