Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: TimMierz on August 15, 2010, 12:09:25 PM

Title: Dust and Ashes question
Post by: TimMierz on August 15, 2010, 12:09:25 PM
Dust and Ashes: "When you play this card, search discard pile for Job. If your Job is harmed or defeated by an opponent, you may place him here instead. Each upkeep, return contents to hand. Cannot be negated."

If Job wins a battle by mutual destruction, can I send him to D&A rather than discarding him after battle? It's not defeat, but is it harm?
Title: Re: Dust and Ashes question
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on August 15, 2010, 12:37:19 PM
Good question. Also, what other conditions would allow me to put Job in D&A?

Discard
Remove from game
Capture
Disease/poison
Set aside in battle
Shuffled into the deck?
Decreased numbers
Beaten by the numbers
Placing an evil card on him?
Stalemate? (Not that you would want to)
Withdraw? (ditto)

I have a feeling I'm missing some.
Title: Re: Dust and Ashes question
Post by: TimMierz on August 15, 2010, 12:41:32 PM
Well, harm is just anything your opponent does to him with a non-good card, and defeat is anything that stops Job from rescuing a Lost Soul. All those things you mentioned are clearly one of those two, but mutual destruction I'm not sure counts as "harm" or "defeat".
Title: Re: Dust and Ashes question
Post by: JSB23 on August 15, 2010, 03:59:17 PM
Job is being harmed by the evil character so....
Title: Re: Dust and Ashes question
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on August 15, 2010, 04:11:21 PM
Jsb is correct.
Title: Re: Dust and Ashes question
Post by: Master_Chi on August 15, 2010, 05:30:26 PM
Dust and Ashes: "When you play this card, search discard pile for Job. If your Job is harmed or defeated by an opponent, you may place him here instead. Each upkeep, return contents to hand. Cannot be negated."

If Job wins a battle by mutual destruction, can I send him to D&A rather than discarding him after battle? It's not defeat, but is it harm?

I wasn't aware that Mutual Destruction was considered a successful rescue?
Title: Re: Dust and Ashes question
Post by: Alex_Olijar on August 15, 2010, 05:32:30 PM
I would say any situation that does not end in Job going to your territory (and probably some where he does go to your territory) would result in him going to Dust and Ashes.
Title: Re: Dust and Ashes question
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on August 15, 2010, 06:47:00 PM
Thankfully, D&A is an optional ability, so you can use it whenever you want.
Title: Re: Dust and Ashes question
Post by: Arch Angel on August 15, 2010, 07:27:51 PM
I wasn't aware that Mutual Destruction was considered a successful rescue?
Please read the randomly Caps-Locked portion of This part of the Official Redemption Rulebook (http://redemptionreg.com/REG/mutualdestructionbynumbers.htm).
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal