Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: YourMathTeacher on August 22, 2009, 07:45:15 PM
-
I'm still a bit fuzzy on the Priests insert about duplicates in deck-building. Sir Nobody stated that the insert was incorrect, but that seems like a huge oversight.
The example on the insert said that you cannot have the plain white Jeremiah (no SA) and the teal Jeremiah in the same Type 1 deck of less than 100 cards. So I have two questions:
1. Is this correct or an error?
2. Can I have the original Beast from the Earth and the Warriors Beast from the Earth in the same Type 1 deck of less than 100 cards?
-
I belive they gave the example of the original Red Dragon and the SA'd Red Dragon being allowed in one deck thats under 100 cards, so I see no reason why both beasts arent allowed. Different art, different SA.
-
I belive they gave the example of the original Red Dragon and the SA'd Red Dragon being allowed in one deck thats under 100 cards, so I see no reason why both beasts arent allowed. Different art, different SA.
Who is "they?"
-
sorry, I thought the rulebook/REG had that example. Imma go look.
-
Here is what the insert says:
"1. Characters with the same title and same art are considered duplicates for deck building. Therefore, Jeremiah (white) and Jeremiah (teal) are duplicate characters and only one is allowed in a Type 1 deck of 50-99 cards.
2. Character cards with the same title and the same brigade are considered duplicate characters unless they are a generic character and have different art. [The Michael example follows]."
Beast from the Earth fits #2 (same title and brigade). The rulebook specifies that the duplictes rule applies to characters with special abilities, but the Jeremiah example on the insert would seem to overrule that, since the insert was printed after the rulebook (or was it?). Or is there a white Jeremiah that has a SA?
-
Ahh, yeah. Same name + Same art = same character, which is why 10/10 and 5/6 red dragons are both allowed, as they have different artwork. Same applies to david, Beast from the earth, and Beast from the sea.
-
Ahh, yeah. Same name + Same art = same character, which is why 10/10 and 5/6 red dragons are both allowed, as they have different artwork. Same applies to david, Beast from the earth, and Beast from the sea.
You're missing the point. The three 10/10 demons would not work based on the insert I quoted, because they are Same Name + Same Brigade.
David is the example in the rulebook because he does not violate #1 or #2 on the insert. The Davids are all different brigade and different art.
-
I am 99.6% sure that I saw it ruled that I could have both red dragons.
-
The insert is correct. You cannot have Beast from the Earth (Un and Wa) in the same deck since they are unique characters with the same title and brigade. Same goes for Red Dragon.
-
Alright, so at least there is proof that this is being ruled differently by hosts. I think we need an official ruling, and if Sir Nobody was correct, then we need to sticky somewhere that the Priests insert card was an error.
-
The REG is the most recent official ruling, so I would argue that we follow that. I know that was a composite response from the playtesters after quite some discussion.
Mike
-
Does the REG agree with the insert or disagree?
-
Hey,
Red Dragon Warriors and Red Dragon Main Set are the same card for deck building requirements. But the Main Set Red Dragon has no special ability, so it is not governed by the 1 per 50 rule. Which allows you to have one of each of those two versions of Red Dragon in the same Type 1 deck.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
-
So, to make sure that this is clear, the insert example with Jeremiah is an error?
So far no one has directly answered this question, but I need to know. I have finally started a playgroup here in Florida (first four players got their starters last week!), but my players are buying Priests packs. I need to know whether to tell them just to toss those inserts or not. I don't want confused new players. One of them brought that question to me, and after reading the insert I was uncertain how to answer, even though I thought I knew the answer was as Sir Nobody stated. This was after I had already posted that same insert earlier on these boards.
-
The REG is the most recent official ruling, so I would argue that we follow that.
Does the REG agree with the insert or disagree?
frisian9, is this the 'most recent official ruling'?
From the REG's rulebook (under Type 1 deck building rules):
• Unique characters with special abilities that have the same name and brigade are limited to a maximum of 1 each per 50 cards in a deck. For example, you can have one David (green brigade) and one David (red brigade) but not two David cards in the green brigade (even if their special abilities vary) in a deck that is smaller than 100 cards.
• Generic characters with special abilities that have the same name and card art are limited to a maximum of 1 each per 50 cards in a deck. If the card art is different, you may select a maximum of 1 each per 50 cards in a deck from each variant. For example, you can have one of each of the black brigade Sadducees (4 Variants) cards in a deck that is smaller than 100 cards, provided they each have different card art.
That entry would seem to disagree with the insert. Also, artwork appears to only be an issue for generic characters.
-
That entry would seem to disagree with the insert. Also, artwork appears to only be an issue for generic characters.
Artwork on uniques is only looked at for different brigades on the same character Name. For example the Red and
Green Caleb's cannot be in the same deck, but the Red and Green David's can be.
-
Artwork on uniques is only looked at for different brigades or the same character. For example the Red and Green Caleb's cannot be in the same deck, but the Red and Green David's can be.
Am I the only one that finds this policy confusing and contradictory?
-
fixed a typo in my post, sorry bout that
-
Hey,
Red Dragon Warriors and Red Dragon Main Set are the same card for deck building requirements. But the Main Set Red Dragon has no special ability, so it is not governed by the 1 per 50 rule. Which allows you to have one of each of those two versions of Red Dragon in the same Type 1 deck.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Ordinarily you could have three of the Red Dragon Main Set in a 50 card deck since it has no special ability. Does this mean that you could have three of the main set and one of the G Deck Red Dragons since the limit of three is only for cards without a SA and the G Deck has a special ability. Or should the max be two Main Set and one G Deck since maybe the G Deck also counts toward the limit of three without a special ability?
Mike
-
Hey,
Ordinarily you could have three of the Red Dragon Main Set in a 50 card deck since it has no special ability. Does this mean that you could have three of the main set and one of the G Deck Red Dragons since the limit of three is only for cards without a SA and the G Deck has a special ability. Or should the max be two Main Set and one G Deck since maybe the G Deck also counts toward the limit of three without a special ability?
The max is two Main Set and one G Deck.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
-
Yay, I done thinked rightly!
-
Am I the only one that finds this policy confusing and contradictory?
I guess I am.
So, tell me this. What is the overlying rationale for why having a Red and Green David (the same person biblically) should be allowed in the same small Type 1 deck, but having a Red and Green Caleb (the same person biblically) should not be allowed in the same small type 1 deck? I understand the artwork rule, but I want to know why it is in place. Is it just because he's David and he deserves to be special? Is it because KoT, PotW, et al are OP'd? Why was artwork ever a consideration for duplicate rules in deck-building, especially since the gameplay rules for duplicates are different (i.e. you cannot have both the Red and Green Davids in play).
-
Artwork on uniques is only looked at for different brigades or the same character. For example the Red and Green Caleb's cannot be in the same deck, but the Red and Green David's can be.
Am I the only one that finds this policy confusing and contradictory?
No I am with you...I think it is a unique character then you shouldn't be able to have two of the same character with SA in your deck no matter what. That number one makes more sense and number two is a lot easier.
-
Am I the only one that finds this policy confusing and contradictory?
I guess I am.
So, tell me this. What is the overlying rationale for why having a Red and Green David (the same person biblically) should be allowed in the same small Type 1 deck, but having a Red and Green Caleb (the same person biblically) should not be allowed in the same small type 1 deck? I understand the artwork rule, but I want to know why it is in place. Is it just because he's David and he deserves to be special? Is it because KoT, PotW, et al are OP'd? Why was artwork ever a consideration for duplicate rules in deck-building, especially since the gameplay rules for duplicates are different (i.e. you cannot have both the Red and Green Davids in play).
Imo, There should be a common sense rule added to the Uniqueness clause.
-
Imo, There should be a common sense rule added to the Uniqueness clause.
+1