Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: lightningninja on April 12, 2009, 03:56:25 PM

Title: Drawing questions
Post by: lightningninja on April 12, 2009, 03:56:25 PM
1. If your opponent plays a card that makes them draw, and you have rain becomes dust active and A-bom in their territory, does rain becomes dust now allow them to draw, and therefore A-bom doesn't work? Or does A-bom still work?

2. If they have gifts of the magi and you play an enhancement that draws two cards and then they draw two cards, if later in the battle the enhancement is negated, do they have to put the two cards back?

3. In the same scenario 2, if you negate gifts of the magi instead of the enhancement (later in the battle) do they have to put the two cards back?
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on April 12, 2009, 04:21:20 PM
1.  I would think they would both work because RBD still allows the card to be drawn, just discarded I think.

2.  I would say no, because Gifts was negated, but I VERY well may be wrong.  I could see it both ways.

3.  Yes, if it is the same phase, they must put the cards back.
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: Gabe on April 13, 2009, 08:39:56 AM
Post abilities  :P

RBD: All cards that an opponent draws because of a special ability used by that opponent are revealed instead...

1) The cards aren't drawn.  They're "revealed instead" so Abom would not be triggered.

2) Yes, you both have to put the two cards back.

3) Yes, if GotM is negated all cards drawn with it during the current phase are returned to the owners deck.
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: BubbleBoy on April 13, 2009, 04:05:39 PM
I concur with Gabe, except I'm not quite sure about #2....I mean, Gifts allows the player to draw cards when his opponent does, but it doesn't say that he has to put them back when his opponent does. :-\
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: Bryon on April 13, 2009, 04:20:23 PM
The negate makes it as though the cards were never drawn, so you never got to draw either.  :)
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: YourMathTeacher on April 13, 2009, 04:23:03 PM
You thought you had seen your opponent draw two cards, so you did too. However, later in the turn you realized that your eyes had deceived you. Your opponent never actually did draw two cards, so you respectfully put your two cards back.
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on April 14, 2009, 04:36:35 PM
what if I don't feel like being respectful?
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: Sean on April 14, 2009, 04:37:43 PM
The judge will make you.
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: Ironica on September 11, 2009, 12:00:22 AM
I know this is some major Necro posting here :P.

Your opponent draws some cards in battle.  You have GOTM active so you draw cards as well.  You then play a negate that came from one of the cards that you drew.  Would you thne have to put the negate back into your deck with the rest of the cards thus stopping the negate and having the draw ability continue which causes an endless loop?
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: FresnoRedemption on September 11, 2009, 12:20:45 AM
I know this is some major Necro posting here :P.

Your opponent draws some cards in battle.  You have GOTM active so you draw cards as well.  You then play a negate that came from one of the cards that you drew.  Would you thne have to put the negate back into your deck with the rest of the cards thus stopping the negate and having the draw ability continue which causes an endless loop?

Before that happens, the space/time continuum implodes.
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: Bryon on September 11, 2009, 12:29:21 AM
In cases of loops, my general rule for how I rule (sounds redundant and kinda loopy in itself) is that negates abilties will stay to stop the loop.  The negate card itself will go back to the top.

I may be wrong, but that is how I've done it.
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: SirNobody on September 11, 2009, 12:32:31 AM
Hey,

In cases of loops, my general rule for how I rule (sounds redundant and kinda loopy in itself) is that negates abilties will stay to stop the loop.  The negate card itself will go back to the top.

I would rule the same way.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: Arch Angel on September 11, 2009, 07:46:45 AM
I thought there was a rule that you cannot un-play an enhancement, so no matter what it sticks?
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: BubbleBoy on September 11, 2009, 07:54:21 AM
I was going to say the same thing, but seeing both Bryon and Tim agreed, I decided to keep my mouth shut.
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: Arch Angel on September 11, 2009, 08:00:25 AM
Yea, I almost did that too, but you know me and my big mouth :O :D
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: RTSmaniac on September 11, 2009, 11:23:27 AM
i would rule that the negate stays in battle as well...what am i missing here?
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: RedemptionAggie on September 11, 2009, 01:26:18 PM
I thought there was a rule that you cannot un-play an enhancement, so no matter what it sticks?

You can't (directly) interrupt the ability to play an enhancement.  Negating the draw ability returns all cards drawn (except those that are CBN) to the deck, regardless of where they are.  (Which is more along the lines of removing the target rather than negating the ability.)

What about CBI cards?  Are they returned when the draw is negated, or do they stick?
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: Gabe on September 11, 2009, 01:53:29 PM
What about CBI cards?  Are they returned when the draw is negated, or do they stick?

Seems to me that they'd stick just like a CBN card.
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: Bryon on September 11, 2009, 02:37:28 PM
What about CBI cards?  Are they returned when the draw is negated, or do they stick?

Seems to me that they'd stick just like a CBN card.
agreed
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: The Guardian on September 11, 2009, 02:54:50 PM
So how is this different than Claudia/ET/Abe's Servant? Which I'm guessing is the example Arch Angel was thinking of...
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: RedemptionAggie on September 11, 2009, 03:22:43 PM
You're negating the drawing of the card, not the playing of the card.

Example using different SAs:
RA FSP, blocked by Esau the Hunter.  Play Ship to Cyprus to search and band in a green hero, who gets captured by Esau.  Play Blessings, which negates Ship to Cyprus and returns the green hero to the deck.  You didn't negate the capture, but removed it's target.
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: Gabe on September 11, 2009, 03:27:32 PM
You're negating the drawing of the card, not the playing of the card.

Example using different SAs:
RA FSP, blocked by Esau the Hunter.  Play Ship to Cyprus to search and band in a green hero, who gets captured by Esau.  Play Blessings, which negates Ship to Cyprus and returns the green hero to the deck.  You didn't negate the capture, but removed it's target.

I don't think that example works.  You'd be indirectly negating Esau, the Hunter's capture and that can't be.
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: The Guardian on September 11, 2009, 03:32:46 PM
Wasn't that the type of situation that the "card cloning" premise* was based on...?  :P

*If you know what I'm talking about, you've been on the Redemption forum for a long time  ;)
Title: Re: Drawing questions
Post by: SirNobody on September 11, 2009, 04:33:16 PM
Hey

I thought there was a rule that you cannot un-play an enhancement, so no matter what it sticks?

We're not "un-playing" the enhancement, we're just sending it back to where it came from.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal