Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: golgotha on May 08, 2009, 06:54:25 PM

Title: Doubt
Post by: golgotha on May 08, 2009, 06:54:25 PM
What happens if you play Doubt and set it aside before your turn is over? Does it remain Set Aside as a Evil Character? And will it return to territory with whatever abilities it has gained from being set aside?

Doubt - Reaper - Place in any territory. When played, this card becomes an orange brigade 0/12 Evil Character until end of turn.                  
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: lightningninja on May 08, 2009, 07:05:49 PM
Hm... I think it would have to stay? Unless since Doubt's ability kicks in first it can't be set aside? I really don't know. :dunno:
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: The Schaef on May 08, 2009, 07:06:28 PM
At the end of turn it reverts to a Dominant, which I do not think can be set aside with a set-aside card.

Option B is that it is allowed to remain set aside, but when it returns it is immediately discarded, so you lose the benefit anyway.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: BubbleBoy on May 08, 2009, 07:36:39 PM
How about, let's say you block with an EC, then you play doubt, then you play a set-aside on the EC in battle to set doubt aside.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: cforce44 on May 08, 2009, 07:39:48 PM
How about, let's say you block with an EC, then you play doubt, then you play a set-aside on the EC in battle to set doubt aside.

Same effect as above.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: BubbleBoy on May 08, 2009, 07:44:50 PM
What if that set-aside card is chemosh?
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: lightningninja on May 08, 2009, 08:07:21 PM
Hm... This is very interesting. I think that if you played "he is risen," it would work because you interrupt it being discarded after turn. But I think that with other cards it would still be discarded... cause the doubt's ability to kill itself comes before the enhancement. And you can't interrupt a dominant... so I guess "he is risen" wouldn't work either, imo.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: RTSmaniac on May 08, 2009, 08:25:47 PM
no-
it is set aside and is now out of play and cant be targeted unless specifically targeted in set aside area.
that is of course unless its ability still targets itself.
question: if a character is poisoned and then is set aside does it still decrease in set aside area? Can i target it for healing if it is set aside?
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: RTSmaniac on May 08, 2009, 08:29:30 PM
i would assume if its ability is suspended until it returns that it would not be immediatly discarded because it skipped the phase where it would be discarded and would wait for the next phase where the end of turn effect would trigger.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal