Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Warrior_Monk on September 07, 2014, 11:33:52 PM

Title: Double Instead: Nicanor/RBD
Post by: Warrior_Monk on September 07, 2014, 11:33:52 PM
I play The Generous Widow while my opponent has both Nicanor in play and Rain Becomes Dust active.  Which instead happens first, Nicanor or Rain Becomes Dust?
Title: Re: Double Instead: Nicanor/RBD
Post by: The Guardian on September 08, 2014, 12:21:12 AM
I believe whichever was active first.
Title: Re: Double Instead: Nicanor/RBD
Post by: Red Warrior on September 08, 2014, 10:40:32 AM
We had these two cards duking it out the other day in my playgroup. I was controlling Nicanor in a multi-player game. I made a successful rescue against a player with RBD active, and he surrendered the Rejoice LS to me. Normally, under RBD, I wouldn't have my draw "insteaded" because I do not control the ability causing me to draw. My Nicanor insteads the Rejoice LS's, so instead of all players draw 1, all players draw 1  ;) 

...HOWEVER I then controlled the draw ability, and got hit with RBD...  :'(
Title: Re: Double Instead: Nicanor/RBD
Post by: Redoubter on September 08, 2014, 03:03:51 PM
I believe whichever was active first.

I would agree based on the current rules, in general.  Both have the same activation times and both can remain active.  However, note that characters 'reactivate' when they enter battle (see Simon the Zealot for similar rulings), and a curse would be deactivated if another artifact were activated instead, and would activate again later if chosen again.  If you have both out and Nicanor was out first, if he enters battle then RBD is now 'longest activated,' for example.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal