Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: LordZardeck on March 13, 2012, 01:38:29 AM
-
If I use gifts and hur to make my opponent d7 so I can, and he draws DoN, do I still get my draw? I was told that basically DoN prevents that card from having effect again
-
Also, please confirm that after we all draw and I play DoN he can not play SoG/NJ that was drawn.
-
Who has priority to play Dominants first after the draw?
-
accordian to this (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/quick-question-hur-gotm-don-and-drawing-ls/msg457059/?topicseen#msg457059), I have a chance to do my moves before I annouce ra or b/c. My opponent played his DoN before I even had a chance to play the ls i drew and draw again
-
Who has priority to play Dominants first after the draw?
No one. We both drew which was the last action. It wasn't even a slapjack scenario. He was attacking and claimed after reading the confirmation thread i found on cactus that he was going to play SoG/NJ. It wasn't slapjack so my DoN should take precident.
-
DoN negates the draw, all cards go back. Now if you had already played SOG/NJ that would be one thing since it would be clear he was only using it to stop you from getting those two cards, but you hadn't played them yet.
-
I thought the player who played the last card has the chance to respond to his own action with a Dominant/manually triggered ability first?
-
Who has priority to play Dominants first after the draw?
No one. We both drew which was the last action. It wasn't even a slapjack scenario. He was attacking and claimed after reading the confirmation thread i found on cactus that he was going to play SoG/NJ. It wasn't slapjack so my DoN should take precident.
I was. Since I already had my Guardian out, it was completely safe to rescue the 2-liner without fear of falling away. also, that would leave just the female-only, preventing a ra. But you played DoN before I could even play the ls
-
I thought the player who played the last card has the chance to respond to his own action with a Dominant/manually triggered ability first?
Yes, in a slapjack situation.
-
The reason i'm asking all this is because I've been constantly told DoN doesn't prevent an effect currently happening. Basically, DoN doesn't interrupt and negate.
-
I thought the player who played the last card has the chance to respond to his own action with a Dominant/manually triggered ability first?
This is used in slapjack like situations and to solve the "I tap my two liner and then...." 'SOG/NJ!" scenario. If the player had played their SOG/NJ then it would be one thing but because there was no clear intent to take away specific cards, he just didn't want Zardeck drawing, i don't think the respond to action protocol applies.
Zardeck DoN does infact negate the artifact it discards, as long as DoN was played in the same phase as the ability was used. He couldn't, for example, wait until the discard phase to negate your draw but he can while you're still in the battle phase.
-
Then why do people keep telling me that DoN discards first THEN negates making it not an interrupt and negate?
-
Do i have to shuffle the cards I drew, or put them back in the order I got them?
-
Then why do people keep telling me that DoN discards first THEN negates making it not an interrupt and negate?
The only time the order comes up is in the case of Lampstand of the Sanctuary. Because Lampstand is protected from evil Doms, it can't be discarded unless it is FIRST negated and DoN does them in the opposite order. If Lampy wasn't protected it wouldn't matter.
Put them back in the order they were before.
-
Actually, I would side with Zardeck on this. You can't play cards while other cards are resolving. Adot would have to pick back up DoN and wait until Gifts fully finished, at which time Zardeck could play SoG and NJ before the DoN unless he dawdled.
-
Actually, I would side with Zardeck on this. You can't play cards while other cards are resolving. Adot would have to pick back up DoN and wait until Gifts fully finished, at which time Zardeck could play SoG and NJ before the DoN unless he dawdled.
I thought that everything had completed. In the 7 card shuffle and 14 card draw I missed in RTS's text box where he had drawn the soul and was unaware that he hadn't put it down. Plus DoN was the one card i kept from Hur, so it was obvious I was planning to play it. It's like drawing 3 cards and someone playing mayhem, but then you stating you were going to play AotL. So does mayhem get picked up so AotL can be played first?
-
I thought that everything had completed. In the 7 card shuffle and 14 card draw I missed in RTS's text box where he had drawn the soul and was unaware that he hadn't put it down.
This is where your mistake was. If you waited until the LS came out, and then played DoN clearly before he played SoG/NJ, then I would say that your opponent's cards that they drew would have to go back.
However, since you tipped your hand too early, it gives your opponent the chance to respond to their own action of drawing by playing their SoG/NJ before you can play your DoN (as long as they do it right away after drawing).
-
accordian to this (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/quick-question-hur-gotm-don-and-drawing-ls/msg457059/?topicseen#msg457059), I have a chance to do my moves before I annouce ra or b/c. My opponent played his DoN before I even had a chance to play the ls i drew and draw again
(https://www.cactusforums.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwonkette.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2008%2F09%2Faccordion.gif&hash=19e855bde74f0f259aa85a57e99ab539fe38219b)
-
Hey,
Do i have to shuffle the cards I drew, or put them back in the order I got them?
I'm not sure on this one, but I believe that if 3 or less cards are drawn and the draw is negated they go back on top. If 4 or more cards are drawn and the draw is negated they are shuffled in.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
-
Draw > Special Conditions
If a draw ability is negated and 3 or less cards are drawn then return the drawn cards to the deck in the same order they were drawn. If more than three cards were drawn then shuffle the cards into the deck.
I'm kind of surprised that was actually in the REG. :P
I assume "3 or less cards" refers to the amount specified in the draw ability, and not how many were drawn (including LSs).
What is the reasoning for that ruling? The potential for players to forget the order or to put them back in a different order? And what cards does that really apply to besides Gifts?
-
You can D4+ off Ishmiah, TToD, and some brown card off the top of my head.
-
You can D4+ off Ishmiah, TToD, and some brown card off the top of my head.
Wickedness Abounds
(And now I'm snickering at the thought of Pol playing cards from his head)