Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Jonesy on September 03, 2014, 03:46:45 PM

Title: DON
Post by: Jonesy on September 03, 2014, 03:46:45 PM
If i use DON on Golden Cherubim during my opponents prep phase, can he activate another art? please explain
Title: Re: DON
Post by: Minion of Jesus on September 03, 2014, 03:53:35 PM
It depends on if he already had it active and had already used its ability that turn. If so, no. If he had just activated it and THEN you used DoN, then he couldn't activate a new one either. However, I can't see why you would use DoN in the prep phase, since you won't be drawing many cards then.
Title: Re: DON
Post by: ChristianSoldier on September 03, 2014, 03:55:53 PM
He definitely can't if he already activated or deactivated artifacts, because you have to do all your artifact changing at once (Unless my information is outdated)

If your opponent hasn't, then I would suggest that they could because they haven't done any artifact activation yet.

This is actually another reason for a specialized artifact activation phase (probably between upkeep and prep or possibly between prep and battle) so that these questions don't come up.

Note: Golden Cherubim is CBN so using DON in the battle phase won't actually stop it from working, using it in the prep phase means that its ability will have ended by the battle phase.
Title: Re: DON
Post by: Jonesy on September 03, 2014, 03:57:05 PM
It was an awkward scenario where i had to draw cards on the block. thanks for the clarification
Title: Re: DON
Post by: Chris on September 04, 2014, 03:49:18 PM
Your best option is to ask your opponent to alert you to when he's planning on move to the battle phase. You get a chance to respond before he advances his turn, so you can play DoN after he's finished his "artifact phase".
Title: Re: DON
Post by: Praeceps on September 07, 2014, 02:19:59 PM
Of course he/she doesn't have to tell you, but they might count it as a courtesy.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal