Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: SignoftheStar on December 26, 2013, 11:13:23 PM

Title: Dominants
Post by: SignoftheStar on December 26, 2013, 11:13:23 PM
For some reason, I have been under the impression that Dominants can have their targets limited but cannot be negated by game rule. I can't seem to find this ruling anywhere, and yet I am still rather convinced it is true. Is it, or did I just make it up?
Title: Re: Dominants
Post by: Praeceps on December 27, 2013, 12:01:36 AM
No, you are correct. You can not negate a Dominant, but you can be protected from one.
Title: Re: Dominants
Post by: SignoftheStar on December 27, 2013, 12:53:22 AM
That's what I thought. Thanks, Praeceps.
If anyone can tell me where the actual ruling is, that'd be great.
Title: Re: Dominants
Post by: browarod on December 27, 2013, 09:38:50 AM
Page 18 of the 4th Edition rulebook states: "The special ability on a dominant is instantaneous and nothing can negate its effect."

The REG clarifies Protect as: "A protect ability allows a card to be unaffected by special abilities or game rules that would normally affect it."

Since Dominants only inherently have CBN status, you are free to protect from them (or, in cases like Judas' Plot and Herod's Temple, instead them).
Title: Re: Dominants
Post by: SignoftheStar on December 27, 2013, 01:12:32 PM
Alright, that's exactly what I needed. Thank you, browarod.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal