Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Gohanick on August 17, 2010, 10:11:03 PM

Title: Does self retain his gained identifiers when he hits the discard?
Post by: Gohanick on August 17, 2010, 10:11:03 PM
Say if self targets and opponent's converted philistine, he gains the philistine identifier and I block with him. He dies in battle. The next time my opponent attacks can I use philistine armor bearer to bring self out of the discard pile?
Title: Re: Does self retain his gained identifiers when he hits the discard?
Post by: Warrior_Monk on August 17, 2010, 10:15:49 PM
I love all the ruling questions that surfaced today that are so strange.

I would say no.
Title: Re: Does self retain his gained identifiers when he hits the discard?
Post by: Isildur on August 17, 2010, 10:17:01 PM
Im pretty sure Self Resets everytime (well the one time) he hits the discard pile.
Title: Re: Does self retain his gained identifiers when he hits the discard?
Post by: DDiceRC on August 17, 2010, 10:18:38 PM
From the REG:

Discard

Discard is removing a card from its current location and placing it face up on the top of the discard pile. A card may be dis­carded from a player’s hand, draw pile, set-aside area, or Field of Play. Once a card is discarded, it cannot be reintroduced into the game unless another card's special abilities instruct this to happen. Any time a card is discarded, it returns to face value.
Title: Re: Does self retain his gained identifiers when he hits the discard?
Post by: Professoralstad on August 17, 2010, 10:23:03 PM
Im pretty sure Self Resets everytime (well the one time) he hits the discard pile.

Correct. A Self in the discard pile is a multicolor EC with no identifiers. So he would not be a Philistine in the discard pile.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal