Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Bobbobowitz on September 09, 2009, 09:52:14 PM

Title: Does Name on Name double the SA numbers?
Post by: Bobbobowitz on September 09, 2009, 09:52:14 PM
Jashobeam's spears states that it gives a 8/4 bonus instead of 3/2 if played on a giant. If I play this card on Jashobeam does the name on name bonus double the orginal value or the value after the SA?
Title: Re: Does Name on Name double the SA numbers?
Post by: sk on September 09, 2009, 09:58:59 PM
It doubles the original value.  You can choose to use the special abilities' value, but it is instead of the name on name bonus.
Title: Re: Does Name on Name double the SA numbers?
Post by: Arch Angel on September 10, 2009, 12:17:26 PM
Err, I think you have the wrong card.

Jashobeam’s Spear
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Red • Ability: 3 / 2 • Class: Weapon • Special Ability: Following a successful rescue attempt, holder may discard a warrior class Evil Character in play.

Did you maybe mean

Ishbibenob’s Spear
Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Crimson • Ability: 3 / 2 • Class: Weapon • Special Ability: Worth 8/4 if used by a giant.


Also, unless the SA on Ishbibenob's Spear is negated, it is NOT optional and MUST activate (if used by a giant, of course)
Title: Re: Does Name on Name double the SA numbers?
Post by: RedemptionAggie on September 10, 2009, 01:12:56 PM
Quote
If an enhancement played on a character and qualifies for name-on-name bonus and contains a greater worth special ability (e.g., Lahmi’s Spear), the holder must choose either the greater worth or the name-on-name bonus to determine the ability of the enhancement; the holder may not choose both.

While it activates, it appears you can ignore it in favor of the name-on-name bonus.  However, with one exception (Warriors Goliath's Spear) the SA is worth as much or more than the NoN would be.
Title: Re: Does Name on Name double the SA numbers?
Post by: Bobbobowitz on September 10, 2009, 01:23:03 PM
Yea sorry it was ishibibenob and thanks for the answer.
Title: Re: Does Name on Name double the SA numbers?
Post by: Arch Angel on September 10, 2009, 02:30:45 PM
Quote
If an enhancement played on a character and qualifies for name-on-name bonus and contains a greater worth special ability (e.g., Lahmi’s Spear), the holder must choose either the greater worth or the name-on-name bonus to determine the ability of the enhancement; the holder may not choose both.

While it activates, it appears you can ignore it in favor of the name-on-name bonus.  However, with one exception (Warriors Goliath's Spear) the SA is worth as much or more than the NoN would be.
Wow that countermands the typical ruling of mandatory (non-may) rules... but ok I guess O.o
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal