Author Topic: Does Moabite Marauders even work?  (Read 134 times)

Offline jbeers285

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3348
  • bravo
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Does Moabite Marauders even work?
« on: July 31, 2020, 02:20:06 PM »
0


How can the character take something in battle, after battle?

The only way I see this working is if Marauders is put into a side battle and then takes from the on going battle.

Otherwise, I believe he needs an errata to work as intended.

Thoughts? Perhaps I’m wrong?
JMM is a modern day prophet

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3096
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Does Moabite Marauders even work?
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2020, 03:15:24 PM »
+1
Yes, it works. "After battle" happens as the battle is ending, but before the characters actually return to territory.

Quote from: REG>After Battle
End of battle effects are triggered effects that happen during battle resolution. Any cards targeted by end of battle effects must be targetable in their state at the end of battle, regardless of their state during the battle.

“After battle”means “At the end of battle”. “Following your rescue attempt”means “At the end of your rescue attempt”.

Quote from: REG>Battle Resolution
1. Add the numbers of the Enhancements in battle to the characters that used them. If this results in negative toughness for any characters, discard those characters.
2. Determine the outcome of the battle. Discard all characters that are being discarded based on the strength and toughness comparison. Discard all Enhancements that no longer have a character that can use them in battle.
3. Activate all effects that trigger based on the result of the battle.
4. If the battle was ever a rescue attempt and it has not already been successful, determine the result of the rescue attempt. If the battle was never a rescue attempt and only a battle challenge, determine the result of the battle challenge. Determine the result of the block. If the rescue attempt is successful, the defender surrenders a Lost Soul.
5. Activate all effects and game rules that trigger based on the success/failure of the rescue attempt, battle challenge, block, or the end of the battle.
6. If any characters that remain in battle came from another battle, they return to that battle and retain any Enhancements used by them.
7.Any warrior-class characters in battle not currently equipped with a weapon-class Enhancement may be equipped with an unequipped weapon-class Enhancement in battle-current controller’s choice. Discard all Enhancements in battle that are not placed or equipped. Any characters that remain in battle are returned to the territory of the player that has permanent control.

Offline Asahel24601

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 685
  • So many new weapons, so little deck space
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Does Moabite Marauders even work?
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2020, 04:49:21 PM »
0
Block With Marauders, get Inish, play Unsuccessful (PoC), stalemate, take back Unsuccessful. It seems good.

Offline Red Dragon Thorn

  • Still the defending National Champion
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5308
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Does Moabite Marauders even work?
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2020, 04:52:11 PM »
0
You can only take cards that you don't own/control
Covenant with Death. That is all.

Offline Asahel24601

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 685
  • So many new weapons, so little deck space
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Does Moabite Marauders even work?
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2020, 04:54:03 PM »
0
You can only take cards that you don't own/control
Oh. Right. Forgot about that.

Nevermind, then

Offline Bobbert

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1754
  • The player formerly known as Thomas Hunter
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Does Moabite Marauders even work?
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2020, 10:26:34 PM »
0
I mean, once there's something for you to take, that's still a very safe way to do it.
ANB is good. Change my mind.

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 2274
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: Does Moabite Marauders even work?
« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2020, 09:48:43 AM »
+1
You can only take cards that you don't own/control
Oh. Right. Forgot about that.

Nevermind, then

Unless you take from your deck, reserve, discard pile.  Silly wording.
Need Redemption? Visit Your Turn Games today!