Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Red Wing on October 10, 2011, 04:59:01 PM

Title: Does HQ at Riblah protect from discard from Gates of Samaria?
Post by: Red Wing on October 10, 2011, 04:59:01 PM
Does HQ at Riblah protect from discard from Gates of Samaria?


Headquarters at Riblah (Pi)

Type: Fortress • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect Babylonian Evil Characters in your territory from discard. During discard phase, you may discard this Fortress to discard all captured Heroes in your Land of Bondage. • Identifiers: Play to territory. • Verse: II Kings 25:20 • Availability: Priests booster packs (Rare)


Gates of Samaria (RA2)

Type: Fortress • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect evil Kings of Israel in your territory from opponents. When you play a Samaria Site, increase your evil King of Israel 6/6 to decrease a character 6/6. • Identifiers: None • Verse: II Kings 7:1 • Availability: Rock of Ages Extended booster packs (None)
Title: Re: Does HQ at Riblah protect from discard from Gates of Samaria?
Post by: browarod on October 10, 2011, 05:03:28 PM
HQ at Riblah says simply "discard" so it protects from game rule discards as well (much like High Priest's Palace). So, yes it protects your */6 or lower Babylonians from being discarded if decreased by GoS.
Title: Re: Does HQ at Riblah protect from discard from Gates of Samaria?
Post by: lp670sv on October 10, 2011, 05:03:50 PM
I think i saw this somewhere already and it was ruled yes, but they would die as soon as they enter battle since they're at 0/0 and no longer protected. I'm not sure though I may be remembering that wrong.
Title: Re: Does HQ at Riblah protect from discard from Gates of Samaria?
Post by: BubbleBoy on October 10, 2011, 05:05:02 PM
There have been a lot of disputes in the last few years on whether "protect" protects from game rule or just special abilities. Last I knew, it protected from game rule, and if that's still the case, then HQ does protect from discard via Gates. However, the character(s) will still be decreased no matter what.

EDIT: Double-instaposted.
Title: Re: Does HQ at Riblah protect from discard from Gates of Samaria?
Post by: SomeKittens on October 10, 2011, 06:09:09 PM
Yes, protect will protect from game rule, unless it specifies "abilities"
Title: Re: Does HQ at Riblah protect from discard from Gates of Samaria?
Post by: Red Wing on October 10, 2011, 08:53:13 PM
OK thanks!
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal