Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Blood Bought Believer on October 13, 2009, 06:43:22 PM

Title: Does a negated SA stay negated?
Post by: Blood Bought Believer on October 13, 2009, 06:43:22 PM
OK...say I am playing someone that has placed a Abomination of Desolation in my territory 

(If used by a Greek, place in opponent's territory.  Each time opponent draws cards [except during draw phase] you may discard a card in that territory except a Lost Soul.)

I attempt a rescue with a warrior class red hero and during my initiative play The Battle is the Lord's.

(If used by a warrior class hero, negate all special abilities on evil enhancements of a selected brigade)

If I select black and negate the SA of Abomination of Desolation, is that SA negated for the rest of the game or just the rest of the phase?  In other words, once the SA becomes interrupted and prevented, does that prevention effectively remove that SA or just prevent it temporarily?
Title: Re: Does a negated SA stay negated?
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 13, 2009, 07:01:49 PM
Just the rest of the phase.
Title: Re: Does a negated SA stay negated?
Post by: sk on October 13, 2009, 07:02:36 PM
But a previously placed enhancement cannot be negated, correct?
Title: Re: Does a negated SA stay negated?
Post by: browarod on October 13, 2009, 07:09:37 PM
If Abom was placed that turn, then Battle would negate it for that battle phase. If it was played on a previous turn, it would not be negated at all.

I could be wrong, though.
Title: Re: Does a negated SA stay negated?
Post by: YourMathTeacher on October 13, 2009, 07:22:20 PM
If Abom was placed that turn, then Battle would negate it for that battle phase. If it was played on a previous turn, it would not be negated at all.

I agree that it cannot be negated if placed on a previous turn, however I would think that if it was negated in the same phase it was placed, then it would no longer be placed at all.
Title: Re: Does a negated SA stay negated?
Post by: browarod on October 13, 2009, 07:25:38 PM
I agree that it cannot be negated if placed on a previous turn, however I would think that if it was negated in the same phase it was placed, then it would no longer be placed at all.
Hmm, I think you're right. Since it's negated it would get put back with the EC that played it and then would be moved to the discard pile at the end of the battle with all the other used enhancements.
Title: Re: Does a negated SA stay negated?
Post by: RedemptionAggie on October 13, 2009, 07:33:15 PM
I agree with YMT, but I have an additional question - what if it was placed in a different phase in the same turn (via High Places in the Preparation Phase, most likely)?
Title: Re: Does a negated SA stay negated?
Post by: YourMathTeacher on October 13, 2009, 07:39:04 PM
WHOA! I just learned something new from the REG:


Instant Abilities > Fortify or Place > How to Play

The special ability “place” can be negated during the same game phase in which it is activated; it cannot be negated after that game phase is completed.  However, the special ability on the placed card can be negated unless specified otherwise.

Apparently the SA of A-Bom can be negated, but the "Place" part cannot. Also, the "Place" part cannot be negated in battle if the card is placed during the Prep Phase.
Title: Re: Does a negated SA stay negated?
Post by: thestrongangel on October 13, 2009, 08:38:44 PM
WHOA! I just learned something new from the REG:


Instant Abilities > Fortify or Place > How to Play

The special ability “place” can be negated during the same game phase in which it is activated; it cannot be negated after that game phase is completed.  However, the special ability on the placed card can be negated unless specified otherwise.

Apparently the SA of A-Bom can be negated, but the "Place" part cannot. Also, the "Place" part cannot be negated in battle if the card is placed during the Prep Phase.


So what happens in this situation is that Abom would remain in the territory, but for that phase its effects would not activate.  Once that negate effect ended, then it would go back to normal.
Title: Re: Does a negated SA stay negated?
Post by: sk on October 14, 2009, 02:20:51 AM
Can we get confirmation on the REG quote?  I've seen it ruled the other way enough times that I'm suspicious the REG is in error.  However, I like the ruling, especially with High Places.
Title: Re: Does a negated SA stay negated?
Post by: thestrongangel on October 14, 2009, 04:02:05 AM
Here is the Paragraph quoted in total:

Quote
Placed cards must be activated according to game rules.  Cards placed remain where they are placed until targeted by a special ability (directly or indirectly) or by a game rule.  Placed cards can be directly targeted by other cards (e.g., Boasting of Wisdom) or indirectly when the underlying card is targeted.  When the underlying card is targeted, the placed cards go with the underlying card.  The special ability “place” can be negated during the same game phase in which it is activated; it cannot be negated after that game phase is completed.  However, the special ability on the placed card can be negated unless specified otherwise.
Title: Re: Does a negated SA stay negated?
Post by: sk on October 14, 2009, 04:33:29 AM
I'm only questioning the last sentence.  I've heard at least 2 playtesters, along with several players, say otherwise when the question has come up before.  I'm curious if somebody just goofed on a ruling and was never corrected, or if the REG is in error, as it sometimes has old rulings.
Title: Re: Does a negated SA stay negated?
Post by: Tracer Burnout on October 14, 2009, 10:24:24 AM
This may seem stupid but what is stopping someone from discarding Abomination of Desolation?  The card says that you may discard any card in the territory....so why not Abomination of Desolation.  I mean I know it defeats the purpose of the card but whats stopping it?  Also, just curious but what card can you play that removes this card from play or discards it? 


Title: Re: Does a negated SA stay negated?
Post by: Professoralstad on October 14, 2009, 10:54:59 AM
This may seem stupid but what is stopping someone from discarding Abomination of Desolation?  The card says that you may discard any card in the territory....so why not Abomination of Desolation.  I mean I know it defeats the purpose of the card but whats stopping it?  Also, just curious but what card can you play that removes this card from play or discards it? 

The player who placed Abomination gets to choose which card to discard from the territory, so it is unlikely that he or she would choose to discard Abomination, though it would be legal.

Any card that says discard/remove an evil enhancement in play/territory could get rid of Abomination. Also, Nathan can shuffle it back into your opponent's deck and the territory discard LS can discard it.
Title: Re: Does a negated SA stay negated?
Post by: Tracer Burnout on October 14, 2009, 10:41:38 PM
The player who placed Abomination gets to choose which card to discard from the territory, so it is unlikely that he or she would choose to discard Abomination, though it would be legal.

Any card that says discard/remove an evil enhancement in play/territory could get rid of Abomination. Also, Nathan can shuffle it back into your opponent's deck and the territory discard LS can discard it.

Prof. Alstad,
    Thanks for the help with the question.  I was unaware that the player that places it chooses who discards with it.  I think I'm getting away from the point of this thread but all questions have a point and I appreciate you taking the time to answer them. 
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal