Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Warrior_Monk on June 04, 2012, 12:06:25 AM

Title: Doctrine Like Leaven
Post by: Warrior_Monk on June 04, 2012, 12:06:25 AM
Can you take it back whenever you want, or is it set aside until it dies?
Title: Re: Doctrine Like Leaven
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on June 04, 2012, 12:08:39 AM
AFAIK Doctrine like Leaven functions similar to Sleep and other + 1/1 in that it has no set duration, and as such you can choose to bring it back when you like. - However I may be wrong since it is a -1/1 per turn instead, but personally I don't believe it makes a difference.
Title: Re: Doctrine Like Leaven
Post by: soul seeker on June 04, 2012, 12:27:51 AM
Without looking at the cards or reg (because I'm lazy after midnight), I think RDT may be right as long as there is not a specified time duration.
Title: Re: Doctrine Like Leaven
Post by: megamanlan on June 04, 2012, 09:07:11 AM
I want to agree, since there is no time limit.
Title: Re: Doctrine Like Leaven
Post by: Minister Polarius on June 04, 2012, 12:09:33 PM
Don't extrapolate this where it doesn't belong, though. Chemosh is the one this quesiton is usually asked about, and it says "until Discarded," so you can't bring people back from there.
Title: Re: Doctrine Like Leaven
Post by: megamanlan on June 05, 2012, 03:04:13 PM
Here is the effect:

Doctrine Like Leaven
Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Black/Gray • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Set aside a Pharisee or Sadducee and decrease it 0/1 per turn. Each upkeep phase, search your discard pile for a generic Evil Character of the type set aside. Place it in your territory. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Matthew 16:12 • Availability: Rock of Ages booster packs (None)

I say Yes, it can come back.
Title: Re: Doctrine Like Leaven
Post by: Warrior_Monk on June 05, 2012, 03:31:57 PM
Wasn't really planning on asking this originally, but is there a rule somewhere that states that "Set aside cards that do not specify a duration of turns or a triggered event can be returned during any preparation phase by the same player that set them aside." ?

Poorly worded, but hopefully you get what I'm going for.
Title: Re: Doctrine Like Leaven
Post by: megamanlan on June 05, 2012, 03:44:28 PM
I believe so, but you wouldn't get anything for it.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal