Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: sepjazzwarrior on November 03, 2019, 09:44:04 AM

Title: Do character abilities work while set aside or paralyzed?
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on November 03, 2019, 09:44:04 AM
I can never remember and cant find it in the REG
Title: Re: Do character abilities work while set aside or paralyzed?
Post by: Gabe on November 03, 2019, 10:00:15 AM
I can never remember and cant find it in the REG

I assume you mean territory class characters? Standard characters (not territory class) only work while in battle.

Territory class character work while they are in territory. If one is paralyzed it's still in territory so it still works. If one is set aside it is not in territory so it does not work.
Title: Re: Do character abilities work while set aside or paralyzed?
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on November 03, 2019, 10:09:55 AM
Ok thanks
Title: Re: Do character abilities work while set aside or paralyzed?
Post by: Watchman on November 03, 2019, 10:28:41 AM
Just wanted to point out where you’ll find the answers in the REG. They are obviously not directly answered in synopsis as Gabe‘s reply, but these are the answers nonetheless:

Paralyze
“While the paralyzed condition remains, the paralyzed character cannot enter battle.”

Paralyze only keeps the character from entering battle, nothing more.

TC Characters
“Territory class character abilities that are active outside of battle are active while the character remains in the territory.”

Territory
“Each player controls an area in the Field of Play referred to as their territory. A player’s territory is where they can put their Artifacts (the Artifact Pile is in territory), characters, Fortresses, and Sites. The player’s Land of Bondage, where they keep Lost Souls they control, is also in the territory.“
Title: Re: Do character abilities work while set aside or paralyzed?
Post by: 777Godspeed on November 03, 2019, 01:15:30 PM
In the same vein of set aside -

I have Throne of David up and during my RA and my opponent uses King Xerxes to put it in set aside for say 3 turns. Is Thrones' SA still active during my next RA or is it suspended, paused, deactivated until it come back to my territory?


Godspeed,
Mike
Title: Re: Do character abilities work while set aside or paralyzed?
Post by: Watchman on November 03, 2019, 01:32:35 PM
In the same vein of set aside -

I have Throne of David up and during my RA and my opponent uses King Xerxes to put it in set aside for say 3 turns. Is Thrones' SA still active during my next RA or is it suspended, paused, deactivated until it come back to my territory?


Godspeed,
Mike

Since Throne is only set aside and not negated through the phases, its ability will still trigger during your next RA. Just bc it was set aside doesn’t mean it stops working. Plenty of forts work while in set aside, such as the Arks, Sheol, Gates of Hell, etc.
Title: Re: Do character abilities work while set aside or paralyzed?
Post by: 777Godspeed on November 03, 2019, 02:21:05 PM
I couldn't remember if that was the case or not. With the newer sets and abilities there is a lot more interaction with set aside, that being said it is a good thing for me to brush up on. That and side-battles... Those always got a little messy and confusing for my liking... Maybe I need to build a side-battle style deck to get past my aversion to it...

Godspeed,
Mike
Title: Re: Do character abilities work while set aside or paralyzed?
Post by: Watchman on November 03, 2019, 02:24:14 PM
I couldn't remember if that was the case or not. With the newer sets and abilities there is a lot more interaction with set aside, that being said it is a good thing for me to brush up on. That and side-battles... Those always got a little messy and confusing for my liking... Maybe I need to build a side-battle style deck to get past my aversion to it...

Godspeed,
Mike

Yeah side battles can be confusing.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal