Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: browarod on September 17, 2010, 03:54:05 PM

Title: Divination + Goliath
Post by: browarod on September 17, 2010, 03:54:05 PM
Assuming all the conditions are correct for a Taunt battle challenge, if I get Goliath (promo) using Divination in territory, can I add him to battle?

Goliath (P) (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/LinkedDocuments/Goliath%20(P).gif)

Divination (TP) (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/LinkedDocuments/Divination%20(TP).gif)
Title: Re: Divination + Goliath
Post by: The M on September 17, 2010, 04:57:49 PM
I would assume so but INE.
I have never really understood this concept about how negate = interrupt + prevent.
I would say that the CBI protected divination from negate since it isn't being prevented.
Title: Re: Divination + Goliath
Post by: BubbleBoy on September 17, 2010, 05:02:38 PM
I don't know what the heck either of you guys are talking about...
Title: Re: Divination + Goliath
Post by: The M on September 17, 2010, 05:05:32 PM
I don't know what the heck either of you guys are talking about...
goliath may or may not negate divinations ability allowing him to or not to be in battle.
Title: Re: Divination + Goliath
Post by: Ken4Christ4ever on September 17, 2010, 05:10:19 PM
Divination is "cannot be interrupted", which means that it cannot be interrupted and it cannot be negated after it has been played. It can be prevented and it can be negated before being played. What you're asking would work if you actually had Goliath. ;)
Title: Re: Divination + Goliath
Post by: lightningninja on September 17, 2010, 06:15:49 PM
I don't understand the "taunt" identifier. Who is placed beneath deck?
Title: Re: Divination + Goliath
Post by: Ken4Christ4ever on September 17, 2010, 06:20:14 PM
I believe I read that the description following "Taunt" happens if the taunt is successful. So that would mean the hero that the opponent uses against your taunt. However, I don't think I understand why you would bother "defending" with a hero, so I'm sure there will be more information available about taunts.
Title: Re: Divination + Goliath
Post by: Warrior_Monk on September 17, 2010, 06:45:26 PM
I don't understand the "taunt" identifier. Who is placed beneath deck?
get. disciples.
Title: Re: Divination + Goliath
Post by: browarod on September 17, 2010, 10:39:15 PM
Well, thanks for clarifying Taunt and CBI (though I already knew as much about both :P), but I don't think it answers my question. If I play Divination on a Magician in my territory (due to it being Territory-class), not during a battle, and if the evil card I choose for Divination's effect is the Goliath promo, can I immediately place him into battle, with the "add it to ... battle" clause on Divination, to instantly and immediately initiate a Taunt battle challenge?

I'm hoping this makes sense.
Title: Re: Divination + Goliath
Post by: Warrior_Monk on September 17, 2010, 10:45:10 PM
I would say no. the battle isn't currently started, and so it cannot be added to battle, because there is no battle. you can make a battle immediately after, but he goes to territory first.
Title: Re: Divination + Goliath
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 18, 2010, 02:10:19 AM
Why not just play Divination, get Goliath in hand, and Taunt with him the normal way?
Title: Re: Divination + Goliath
Post by: Warrior_Monk on September 18, 2010, 09:31:02 AM
Why not just play Divination, get Goliath in hand, and Taunt with him the normal way?
I suppose he could be holy grailed the other way?
Title: Re: Divination + Goliath
Post by: Gohanick on September 18, 2010, 05:29:38 PM
Taunt is an identifier. Not an ability to begin a battle.

If divination were a good card and brought a good character "into battle", you wouldnt suddenly be starting a rescue attempt.

Taunt is something that has to be initiated during the start of the battle phase
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal