Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Arch Angel on August 17, 2010, 01:53:07 AM

Title: Disciples Gabriel
Post by: Arch Angel on August 17, 2010, 01:53:07 AM
Two questions. The first one is the easiest: Can I have both the Disciples version and the Warriors version of Gabriel in the same Type 1 Deck (that is under 100 cards)?

Second question: If I use Gabriel's Special Ability and remove the enhancement from the game, what happens if later in that battle Gabriel loses by numbers, or the battle ends in mutual destruction? Gabriel is protected from discard, not discard abilities. Does this work like Enoch?

Quote
Gabriel (Di)
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Silver • Ability: 10 / 6 • Class: None • Special Ability: Search discard pile for a good Luke Enhancement and add it to hand. You may remove it from the game to protect Gabriel from capture and discard. • Identifiers: NT Male Angel, Prophet • Verse: Luke 1:19

Also, the REG entry on Gabriel is inaccurate. His special ability there is wrong, though the image on the REG does match the card.


edit: accidentally said "Michael" in first question. That's what I get for being on so late. Sorry for any confusion.
Title: Re: Disciples Gabriel
Post by: JSB23 on August 17, 2010, 02:35:44 AM
1. No they have the same art, brigade and name
2. Correct
Title: Re: Disciples Gabriel
Post by: Master KChief on August 17, 2010, 02:41:29 AM
the new gabriel has different art.
Title: Re: Disciples Gabriel
Post by: JSB23 on August 17, 2010, 02:49:06 AM
the new gabriel has different art.

Thank you that was very helpful  ;)
Title: Re: Disciples Gabriel
Post by: Master KChief on August 17, 2010, 02:53:12 AM
didnt you say he couldnt have both gabriels because they were the same name, same art, same brigade? the disciples version has different art than the warriors and kings version.
Title: Re: Disciples Gabriel
Post by: JSB23 on August 17, 2010, 02:57:22 AM
they also have the same verse (Luke 1:19)
Title: Re: Disciples Gabriel
Post by: Master KChief on August 17, 2010, 02:59:01 AM
well, ok, but i think the doubles rule applies to cards that fall under both 'same name, same art', so you could deck both gabriels because it falls under 'same name, different art'.

edit: nevermind, the rule is 'same name, same brigade'. since all 3 gabes fall under this blanket, you could only choose 1 per 50.
Title: Re: Disciples Gabriel
Post by: Gohanick on August 17, 2010, 06:05:43 AM
however same name same brigade can be suspended if the character is generic (ex. sadducees)
Title: Re: Disciples Gabriel
Post by: Minister Polarius on August 17, 2010, 07:30:44 AM
Well, it's not really a matter of suspending the rule, it's just not the rule for generics.
Title: Re: Disciples Gabriel
Post by: Professoralstad on August 17, 2010, 07:36:53 AM
Well, it's not really a matter of suspending the rule, it's just not the rule for generics.

Correct. For unique characters, same name + same art or same name + same brigade = same character. For generic characters, same name + same art = same character (1 per 50 in T1), same name + same brigade + different art = different character.

Gabriel is unique, and all versions have same name + same brigade, so only one is permissible in a 50 card deck.

Also, protection from discard on Gabriel and Simeon works like Enoch. If Gabriel loses to Leviathan, then he returns to territory at end of battle.
Title: Re: Disciples Gabriel
Post by: Master_Chi on August 17, 2010, 05:07:28 PM
Quote
Gabriel (Di)
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Silver • Ability: 10 / 6 • Class: None • Special Ability: Search discard pile for a good Luke Enhancement and add it to hand. You may remove it from the game to protect Gabriel from capture and discard. • Identifiers: NT Male Angel, Prophet • Verse: Luke 1:19

I'm going to enjoy having him in my Silver arsenal....  :-*
Title: Re: Disciples Gabriel
Post by: RTSmaniac on August 17, 2010, 10:41:12 PM
i like recurring burning incense
Title: Re: Disciples Gabriel
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on August 17, 2010, 10:42:23 PM
Special conditions: For Angel at Tomb and Angel at the Tomb the rule is as follows

Different name + Different Art + Different SA + Same verse = Same character.
Title: Re: Disciples Gabriel
Post by: Arch Angel on August 17, 2010, 10:59:53 PM
Angel at Tomb and Angel at The Tomb have the same art :P
Title: Re: Disciples Gabriel
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on August 17, 2010, 11:01:26 PM
No they don't. They have different hues. Thats like saying purple and blue are the same color. If they do have the same art, I'm going to have fun adding some AOCPs to my genesis deck.
Title: Re: Disciples Gabriel
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on August 17, 2010, 11:07:32 PM
? I already play AoCP in my genesis deck :) Coat of Many colors for the win.
Title: Re: Disciples Gabriel
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on August 17, 2010, 11:13:25 PM
You could also play Joseph! I mean, he is genesis.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal