Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: golgotha on December 19, 2010, 07:02:38 PM

Title: Disciples
Post by: golgotha on December 19, 2010, 07:02:38 PM
Quote
Rule Change: Same name + same art = same character.  So Pale Green Prince of This World is the same as the Orange Prince of This World.

Couple of the Disciples (Bartholomew, James, Son of Alphaeus, Philip, Simon the Zealot, Thaddeus, Thomas) break this rule, even though they are the same person. Can't remember the rule with David, but can we have both of the copies of the Disciples on a 50 card deck as long as they both aren't in play?
Title: Re: Disciples
Post by: Gabe on December 19, 2010, 07:30:20 PM
Sure.  And with the no SA Disciples you can have up to three in your deck.
Title: Re: Disciples
Post by: The M on December 22, 2010, 11:22:51 AM
Wait, so I can have:

Simon the Zealot (Di)
Simon the Zealot (Ap)
Andrew (Ap) x3
James (half-brother of Jesus) (Ap)
John (Pr) x3
John (P)
John (H)
Philip (Di)
Philip (Ap) x3
Bartholomew (Nathaniel) (Ap) x3
Bartholomew (Di)
Matthew (Levi) (Ap)
Matthew (Di)
Thomas (Ap)
Thomas (Di)
James, Son of Alphaeus (Di)
James Son of Alphaeus (Ap) x3
Peter (Ap)
Judas Iscariot (UL) x3
Judas Iscariot (Pi)

in 1 deck?
Title: Re: Disciples
Post by: The Guardian on December 23, 2010, 03:32:50 PM
The ones that have the same artwork you cannot have in the same 56 card deck.

So you could have Judas (Pi) x1 or Judas (UL) x3
Likewise, you could have John (G/H) x1 or John (pr) x3

I could be mistaken, but I believe that is how it works.
Title: Re: Disciples
Post by: Gabe on December 23, 2010, 04:23:11 PM
The ones that have the same artwork you cannot have in the same 56 card deck.

So you could have Judas (Pi) x1 or Judas (UL) x3
Likewise, you could have John (G/H) x1 or John (pr) x3

I could be mistaken, but I believe that is how it works.

I think if they have no SA you can still have 3 copies in addition to the 1 version with a SA, even if they have the same art.

James (half-brother of Jesus) (Ap) is not a Disciple, FYI.
Title: Re: Disciples
Post by: The M on December 23, 2010, 05:16:01 PM
Yeah.
Pol had a thread like this and I'm pretty sure that was the verdict.
Title: Re: Disciples
Post by: Cpt.Jaeger on December 30, 2010, 05:04:28 PM
Wait, so I can have:

Simon the Zealot (Di)
Simon the Zealot (Ap)
Andrew (Ap) x3
James (half-brother of Jesus) (Ap)
John (Pr) x3
John (P)
John (H)
Philip (Di)
Philip (Ap) x3
Bartholomew (Nathaniel) (Ap) x3
Bartholomew (Di)
Matthew (Levi) (Ap)
Matthew (Di)
Thomas (Ap)
Thomas (Di)
James, Son of Alphaeus (Di)
James Son of Alphaeus (Ap) x3
Peter (Ap)
Judas Iscariot (UL) x3
Judas Iscariot (Pi)

in 1 deck?

even though you can't have them all in play, can they all be in the boat?
Title: Re: Disciples
Post by: joeycauldron on December 30, 2010, 05:24:53 PM
Just add windows of narrow light and your deck could quickly be completed.  :)
Title: Re: Disciples
Post by: Gabe on December 30, 2010, 07:09:03 PM
even though you can't have them all in play, can they all be in the boat?

No.  The rule for duplicates looks at set-aside and out of play also.
Title: Re: Disciples
Post by: YourMathTeacher on December 30, 2010, 07:12:36 PM
even though you can't have them all in play, can they all be in the boat?

No.  The rule for duplicates looks at set-aside and out of play also.

Which further means that you cannot have the same disciple in play and in the boat.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal