Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Crashfach2002 on February 19, 2009, 10:21:02 PM

Title: Discarding Cards
Post by: Crashfach2002 on February 19, 2009, 10:21:02 PM
I just needed a little clarification, cards that discard cards don't actually stop something from happening right?  An example is Royal Priesthood "Discard an evil Enhancement or Curse in play.  Cannot be negated if used by a N.T.  Hero."  I'm guessing that it only gets rid of numbers of an evil card, but doesn't stop it from happening, like Just a Hireling "Discard your Sadducee or Pharisee to shuffle up to three Lost Souls into deck."
Title: Re: Discarding Cards
Post by: TimMierz on February 19, 2009, 10:27:39 PM
That's absolutely right.
Title: Re: Discarding Cards
Post by: SoulSaver on February 19, 2009, 10:30:47 PM
you're catching on.
Title: Re: Discarding Cards
Post by: Crashfach2002 on February 19, 2009, 10:42:02 PM
another question when you have a card that says discard a good card in hand, does that mean only crosses, bibles, and covenants or does it also include good dominants?
Title: Re: Discarding Cards
Post by: TimMierz on February 19, 2009, 10:44:14 PM
Heroes, Good Enhancements, Covenants, Lamb Icon Dominants, and Good Fortresses are good cards.
Title: Re: Discarding Cards
Post by: Scottie_ffgamer on February 19, 2009, 11:22:13 PM
Ok, say Royal Priesthood is played and discards Go Into Captivity.  Can the ability of GIC still be used since it wasn't negated?  Or can it not be used since you can't technically discard it anymore?  Or can the discard from RP be used as the discard required in GIC?



Go Into Captivity

Type: Curse • Brigade: Crimson • Ability: 0 / 6 • Class: None • Special Ability: If your warrior class Evil Character is in battle, you may discard this card to capture a Hero. • Play As: When holder chooses, if your warrior class Evil Character is in battle then you may discard this card to capture a Hero.
Title: Re: Discarding Cards
Post by: Arch Angel on February 19, 2009, 11:30:06 PM
Ok, say Royal Priesthood is played and discards Go Into Captivity.  Can the ability of GIC still be used since it wasn't negated?
No 
Quote
Or can it not be used since you can't technically discard it anymore?
 yes
Quote
Or can the discard from RP be used as the discard required in GIC?
as far as I am aware, no it cannot
Title: Re: Discarding Cards
Post by: Scottie_ffgamer on February 19, 2009, 11:36:58 PM
That's what I was thinking.  I just wanted to me make sure.
Title: Re: Discarding Cards
Post by: Rubber band warrior on February 20, 2009, 11:01:38 AM
Scottie had the right idea. It can't be used anymore because after it has been discarded, even though the SA is still active, you are unable to pay the cost to get the benefit.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal